The land of Vedas, India has been the home to many great political minds. The likes of Chanakya, Swami Vivekananda and Mahatma Gandhi have been born on this ancient land. The ideologies of these leaders have inspired millions across the globe. Mahatma Gandhi’s principle of non-violence and Satyagraha served as the two important pillars on which the country won its independence. The contribution of other famous freedom fighters like Subash Chandra Bose, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Sarojini Naidu, is engraved in golden letters in the Indian history. While Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, who is referred to as the ‘Iron Man of India’ was involved in the formation of the states which constitute the present India, Dr. B.R. Ambedkar was the brains behind the mammoth constitution of the country. The legacy of Gandhi was carried forward by the leaders like Jawaharlal Nehru, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Jayprakash Narayan and Indira Gandhi, The leaders had a mammoth task of leading the country on the path of economic sustainability and it was only under their guidance that the country steered onto the path of advancement. Explore our collection of biographies of some of the famous Indian leaders and learn all about their lives, timeline and achievements. You will also find some interesting facts and trivia about these personalities.

Narendra ModiNarendra Modi

17 September 1950

Mahatma GandhiMahatma Gandhi

02 October 1869

Indira GandhiIndira Gandhi

19 November 1917

B. R. AmbedkarB. R. Ambedkar

14 April 1891

Jawaharlal NehruJawaharlal Nehru

14 November 1889

Mother TeresaMother Teresa

26 August 1910

Bhagat SinghBhagat Singh

27 September 1907

Priyanka GandhiPriyanka Gandhi

12 January 1972

Rajiv GandhiRajiv Gandhi

20 August 1944

Jaggi VasudevJaggi Vasudev

03 September 1957

Sonia GandhiSonia Gandhi

09 December 1946

Subhas Chandra BoseSubhas Chandra Bose

23 January 1897

Continue Reading Below

Swami VivekanandaSwami Vivekananda

12 January 1863

Lal Bahadur ShastriLal Bahadur Shastri

02 October 1904

Atal Bihari VajpayeeAtal Bihari Vajpayee

25 December 1924

Manmohan SinghManmohan Singh

26 September 1932


0304 BC

Ram Nath KovindRam Nath Kovind

01 October 1945

Continue Reading Below

Sai Baba of ShirdiSai Baba of Shirdi

28 September 1835

Maneka GandhiManeka Gandhi

26 August 1956

L.K. AdvaniL. K. Advani

08 November 1927

Phoolan DeviPhoolan Devi

10 August 1963

Arvind KejriwalArvind Kejriwal

16 August 1968

Guru NanakGuru Nanak

15 April 1469

Continue Reading Below

Morarji DesaiMorarji Desai

29 February 1896

Guru Gobind SinghGuru Gobind Singh

22 December 1666

M G RamachandranM. G. Ramachandran

17 January 1917

Pranab MukherjeePranab Mukherjee

11 December 1935

Continue Reading Below


0599 BC

Sarvepalli RadhakrishnanSarvepalli Radhakrishnan

05 September 1888

Sam ManekshawSam Manekshaw

03 April 1914

Gaur Gopal DasGaur Gopal Das

24 December 1973

Baji Rao IBaji Rao I

18 August 1700

Continue Reading Below


1440 AD

Rajendra PrasadRajendra Prasad

03 December 1884

Continue Reading Below

Sri AurobindoSri Aurobindo

15 August 1872

Sathya Sai BabaSathya Sai Baba

23 November 1926


25 December 1965

Maharishi Mahesh Yogi Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

12 January 1918

K. Kamaraj K. Kamaraj

15 July 1903

Bahadur Shah ZafarBahadur Shah Zafar

24 October 1775

Continue Reading Below

V P SinghV. P. Singh

25 June 1931

Mangal PandeyMangal Pandey

19 July 1827

Jayaprakash NarayanJayaprakash Narayan

11 October 1902

Lala Lajpat RaiLala Lajpat Rai

28 January 1865

C. RajagopalachariC. Rajagopalachari

10 December 1878

 Dadabhai NaorojiDadabhai Naoroji

04 September 1825

Continue Reading Below

1497 AD

Pratibha PatilPratibha Patil

19 December 1934

Paramahansa YoganandaParamahansa Yogananda

05 January 1893

Chaitanya MahaprabhuChaitanya Mahaprabhu

18 February 1486

Gulzarilal NandaGulzarilal Nanda

04 July 1898

A.P.J. Abdul KalamA.P.J. Abdul Kalam

15 October 1931

Continue Reading Below
K. R. NarayananK. R. Narayanan

27 October 1920

I. K. GujralI. K. Gujral

04 December 1919

Birsa MundaBirsa Munda

15 November 1875

Guru Tegh BahadurGuru Tegh Bahadur

01 April 1621

Continue Reading Below

Rani LakshmibaiRani Lakshmibai

19 November 1828

Madan Mohan MalaviyaMadan Mohan Malaviya

25 December 1861

Maa Amritanandamayi Mata Amritanandamayi

27 September 1953

V. V. GiriV. V. Giri

10 August 1894

Jaswant SinghJaswant Singh

03 January 1938

Continue Reading Below

Nandan NilekaniNandan Nilekani

02 June 1955

Guru ArjanGuru Arjan

15 April 1563

Zail SinghZail Singh

05 May 1916

Guru HargobindGuru Hargobind

05 July 1595

Continue Reading Below

Aruna Asaf AliAruna Asaf Ali

16 July 1909

Bidhan Chandra RoyBidhan Chandra Roy

01 July 1882

Govind Ballabh PantGovind Ballabh Pant

10 September 1887