India has a large number of political parties; it is estimated that over 200 parties were formed after India became independent in 1947. Jawaharlal Nehru, a central figure in Indian politics before and after independence became the first Prime Minister of India. He is considered to be the architect of the modern Indian nation-state. Rajendra Prasad, a freedom fighter during the Indian independence movement was the first President of independent India, and also the longest-serving president, for 12 years. Prominent philosopher and writer Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was also a much acclaimed political leader who served as the president of India from 1962 to 1967. Lal Bahadur Shastri, of the Indian National Congress, was the prime minister during a part of Radhakrishnan’s tenure. Jawaharlal Nehru’s daughter, Indira Gandhi created history when she became the first female Prime Minister of India. As a political leader, she was known for her political ruthlessness and unprecedented centralization of power. Atal Bihari Vajpayee, a veteran politician and poet, is also counted amongst the greatest prime ministers of the nation. One of the most respected presidents of the country, A.P.J. Abdul Kalam was a scientist who played a leading role in the development of India's nuclear weapons programs. This section provides you information about the life and works of famous Indian political leaders.
Narendra ModiNarendra Modi
17 September 1950
Prime Minister of India
Mahatma GandhiMahatma Gandhi
02 October 1869
Leader of Indian Independence Movement

B. R. AmbedkarB. R. Ambedkar
14 April 1891
Indian Jurist

Sonia GandhiSonia Gandhi
09 December 1946
Former President of Indian National Congress

Indira GandhiIndira Gandhi
19 November 1917
Former Prime Minister of India

Jawaharlal NehruJawaharlal Nehru
14 November 1889
First PM of India & Freedom Fighter
M G RamachandranM. G. Ramachandran
17 January 1917
Actor, Politician

Feroze GandhiFeroze Gandhi
12 September 1912
Political Leader

Subhas Chandra BoseSubhas Chandra Bose
23 January 1897
Vinayak Damodar SavarkarVinayak Damodar Savarkar
28 May 1883
Independence Activist, Reformer

Atal Bihari VajpayeeAtal Bihari Vajpayee
25 December 1924
Former Prime Minister of India
Ram Nath KovindRam Nath Kovind
01 October 1945
14th President of India

Lal Bahadur ShastriLal Bahadur Shastri
02 October 1904
Former Prime Minister of India

Arvind KejriwalArvind Kejriwal
16 August 1968
Anti Corruption Activist, Politician

P. V. Narasimha RaoP. V. Narasimha Rao
28 June 1921
Prime Minister of India

Morarji DesaiMorarji Desai
29 February 1896
Politician, Prime Minister of India
Priyanka GandhiPriyanka Gandhi
12 January 1972

L.K. AdvaniL. K. Advani
08 November 1927

Maneka GandhiManeka Gandhi
26 August 1956
Politician, Animal Rights Activist

Pranab MukherjeePranab Mukherjee
11 December 1935
13th President of India
Rajendra PrasadRajendra Prasad
03 December 1884
Former President of India

Motilal NehruMotilal Nehru
06 May 1861
Political Leader
Bal Gangadhar TilakBal Gangadhar Tilak
23 July 1856
Indian teacher

P. ChidambaramP. Chidambaram
16 September 1945
Political Leader

Jayaprakash NarayanJayaprakash Narayan
11 October 1902
Political Leaders
C. RajagopalachariC. Rajagopalachari
10 December 1878
Politician, Independence Activist, Lawyer, Writer

K. Kamaraj K. Kamaraj
15 July 1903
Former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, India
Lala Lajpat RaiLala Lajpat Rai
28 January 1865
Freedom Fighter

K. R. NarayananK. R. Narayanan
27 October 1920
President of India

 Dadabhai NaorojiDadabhai Naoroji
04 September 1825
C. N. AnnaduraiC. N. Annadurai
15 September 1909
First Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu

Continue Reading Below
Aga Khan IIIAga Khan III
02 November 1877
Political Leader
I. K. GujralI. K. Gujral
04 December 1919
Former Prime Minister of India

Gulzarilal NandaGulzarilal Nanda
04 July 1898
Former Prime Minister of India

Nandan NilekaniNandan Nilekani
02 June 1955
Founder of Infosys

Gopal Krishna GokhaleGopal Krishna Gokhale
09 May 1866
Pioneer of Indian Independence Movement
V. K. Krishna MenonV. K. Krishna Menon
03 May 1896
Indian Politician
Nana SahebNana Saheb
19 May 1824
Peshwa of the Maratha Empire

Neelam Sanjiva ReddyNeelam Sanjiva Reddy
19 May 1913
Sixth President of India

Zail SinghZail Singh
05 May 1916
President of India

V. V. GiriV. V. Giri
10 August 1894
Fourth President of India
Fakhruddin Ali AhmedFakhruddin Ali Ahmed
13 May 1905
Former President of India

Shankar Dayal SharmaShankar Dayal Sharma
19 August 1918
Former President of India

Madan Mohan MalaviyaMadan Mohan Malaviya
25 December 1861
Politician & Educationist

Jaswant SinghJaswant Singh
03 January 1938

V P SinghV. P. Singh
25 June 1931
Eighth Prime Minister of India
Chittaranjan DasChittaranjan Das
05 November 1870
Indian politician

Bidhan Chandra RoyBidhan Chandra Roy
01 July 1882
Political Leader, Physician
Sardar Vallabhbhai PatelSardar Vallabhbhai Patel
31 October 1875
Iron Man of India

Najma HeptullaNajma Heptulla
13 April 1940

Govind Ballabh PantGovind Ballabh Pant
10 September 1887
Freedom Fighter
J. B. KirpalaniJ. B. Kripalani
11 November 1888

Maulana Abul Kalam AzadMaulana Abul Kalam Azad
11 November 1888
Indian scholar
Syama Prasad MookerjeeSyama Prasad Mookerjee
06 July 1901
Indian Politician

Gopinath BordoloiGopinath Bordoloi
06 June 1890
First Chief Minister of Assam, India

Dr Zakir HussainDr Zakir Husain
08 February 1897
Former President of India

N. T. Rama RaoN. T. Rama Rao
28 May 1923

22 August 1955
Mithun ChakrabortyMithun Chakraborty
16 June 1950
actor, politician

Dara SinghDara Singh
19 November 1928
Indian professional wrestler

Yogi AdityanathYogi Adityanath
05 June 1972

Rahul GandhiRahul Gandhi
19 June 1970
Madhavrao ScindiaMadhavrao Scindia
10 March 1945

Nandamuri BalakrishnaNandamuri Balakrishna
10 June 1960
Actor, Politician
Y. S. Jaganmohan ReddyY. S. Jaganmohan Reddy
21 December 1972

Paresh RawalParesh Rawal
30 May 1950
Television producer, Actor, Politician

Vinod KhannaVinod Khanna
06 October 1946
Sunil DuttSunil Dutt
06 June 1930

Amit ShahAmit Shah
1964 AD
Uddhav ThackerayUddhav Thackeray
27 July 1960

17 December 1958

Bal ThackerayBal Thackeray
23 January 1926
Politician, Journalist, Painter
Subramanian SwamySubramanian Swamy
15 September 1939
Economist, Politician, Author

Raj BabbarRaj Babbar
23 June 1952
Mamata BanerjeeMamata Banerjee
05 January 1955

Shabana AzmiShabana Azmi
18 September 1951

Suresh GopiSuresh Gopi
26 June 1959

Rakhi SawantRakhi Sawant
25 November 1978
Model, Actor
Sanjay GandhiSanjay Gandhi
14 December 1948
03 August 1948

Mohammad AzharuddinMohammad Azharuddin
08 February 1963

Vasundhara RajeVasundhara Raje
08 March 1953

Vallabhbhai PatelVallabhbhai Patel
31 October 1875
Politician, Lawyer, Economist
Shatrughan SinhaShatrughan Sinha
09 December 1945
Political Leaders

Asaduddin OwaisiAsaduddin Owaisi
13 May 1969

Nandamuri HarikrishnaNandamuri Harikrishna
02 September 1956
Politician, Actor

Ravi KishanRavi Kishan
17 July 1969

Arun GawliArun Gawli
N. Chandrababu NaiduN. Chandrababu Naidu
20 April 1950

Arun JaitleyArun Jaitley
28 December 1952
Politician, Lawyer, Spokesperson, Strategist
Isha KoppikarIsha Koppikar
19 September 1976

Naveen PatnaikNaveen Patnaik
16 October 1946
Indian politician
Raj ThackerayRaj Thackeray
14 June 1968
Debashree RoyDebashree Roy
13 June 1961