Ever since its independence from the British Raj in 1947, India has been a federal constitutional republic governed under a parliamentary system laid down by the Constitution of India. According to the Constitution, the Prime Minister is the chief executive head of the country vested with powers for the smooth functioning and working of the country. Though the country also has a presidential post, the role of the President is largely ceremonial and his de facto powers are usually exuded by the Prime Minister. Till date, India has had fifteen appointed Prime Ministers. The first and longest serving prime minister of India, when Jawaharlal Nehru took up the office, India was reeling from the effects of partition. Despite strenuous situation, Nehru propelled India towards advancement, bringing forth radical changes in the country’s domestic, international, social and economic policies. His term of 16 years was succeeded by Lal Bahadur Shastri. Indira Gandhi became the first woman premier. Her son, Rajiv Gandhi, too, took up premiership, thus becoming the youngest PM of India. Current PM, Narendra Modi rise to the office has been historic in Indian governance. A charismatic yet controversial leader, Modi’s no-nonsense spirit and can-do leadership skills have earned him reputation around the globe. His ambitious projects have truly made him the hope of aspirational India! Check this section to get details about the life and works of Indian Prime Ministers.
Narendra ModiNarendra Modi
17 September 1950
Prime Minister of India
Jawaharlal NehruJawaharlal Nehru
14 November 1889
First PM of India & Freedom Fighter

Indira GandhiIndira Gandhi
19 November 1917
Former Prime Minister of India

P. V. Narasimha RaoP. V. Narasimha Rao
28 June 1921
Prime Minister of India

Lal Bahadur ShastriLal Bahadur Shastri
02 October 1904
Former Prime Minister of India

Atal Bihari VajpayeeAtal Bihari Vajpayee
25 December 1924
Former Prime Minister of India
Rajiv GandhiRajiv Gandhi
20 August 1944
Former Prime Minister of India

Manmohan SinghManmohan Singh
26 September 1932
Former Prime Minister of India

Morarji DesaiMorarji Desai
29 February 1896
Politician, Prime Minister of India
Gulzarilal NandaGulzarilal Nanda
04 July 1898
Former Prime Minister of India

V P SinghV. P. Singh
25 June 1931
Eighth Prime Minister of India
I. K. GujralI. K. Gujral
04 December 1919
Former Prime Minister of India

Charan SinghCharan Singh
23 December 1902
Prime Minister of India

H. D. Deve GowdaH. D. Deve Gowda
18 May 1933

Yashwantrao Balwantrao ChavanYashwantrao Balwantrao Chavan
12 March 1913
Former Chief Minister of Maharashtra