Religion and spirituality hold a significant place in Indian culture. The nation has been known for its spirituality from the past several centuries. Adi Shankara, a philosopher and theologian, is known for consolidating the doctrine of Advaita Vedanta and unifying and establishing the main currents of thought in Hinduism. Gautama Buddha, the primary figure in Buddhism, was a sage on whose teachings the religion of Buddhism was founded. Some Hindus regard Gautama as the 9th avatar of Vishnu. Mahavira, also known as Vardhamana, was the 24th and last tirthankara, a significant figure in Jainism. He traveled all over South Asia for three decades to teach Jain philosophy. In the late 15th century emerged Guru Nanak who became the founder Prophet of Sikhism and the first of the ten Sikh Gurus. He has been called "one of the greatest religious innovators of all time". Ramakrishna Paramahamsa, a natural mystic given to spiritual ecstasies from a young age, was regarded as an influential Indian mystic and yogi during the 19th-century. Osho Rajneesh, Kartar Singh Jhabbar, and Maulana Syed Sibte Hasan Naqvi were well-known spiritual and religious leaders of the 20th century. This section provides you information about the life and works of famous Indian spiritual & religious leaders.
Mother TeresaMother Teresa
26 August 1910
Founder of Missionaries of Charity
Guru NanakGuru Nanak
15 April 1469
Sikh Guru

Swami VivekanandaSwami Vivekananda
12 January 1863

Jaggi VasudevJaggi Vasudev
03 September 1957
Yoga Guru

Sai Baba of ShirdiSai Baba of Shirdi
28 September 1835
Spiritual Guru

Guru Gobind SinghGuru Gobind Singh
22 December 1666
0483 AD
Buddhist Monk

1440 AD
Saint and Mystic Poet

0599 BC
Last tirthankara of Jainism

Gaur Gopal DasGaur Gopal Das
24 December 1973
Spiritual Leader, Motivational Speaker
Adi ShankaraAdi Shankara
0788 AD
Advaita Philosopher

Sathya Sai BabaSathya Sai Baba
23 November 1926
Spiritual Guru
Jiddu KrishnamurtiJiddu Krishnamurti
12 May 1895
Public Speaker & Philosopher

Sri AurobindoSri Aurobindo
15 August 1872
Political and Spiritual Leader

1497 AD
Poet & Saint
Maharishi Mahesh Yogi Maharishi Mahesh Yogi
12 January 1918
Founder of Transcendental Meditation Technique

Guru Tegh BahadurGuru Tegh Bahadur
01 April 1621
Ninth Sikh Guru
25 December 1965
Yoga Guru

Paramahansa YoganandaParamahansa Yogananda
05 January 1893

A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami PrabhupadaA. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada
01 September 1896
Founder of ISKCON
Ramana MaharshiRamana Maharshi
30 December 1879

Mirza Ghulam AhmadMirza Ghulam Ahmad
13 February 1835
Founder of Ahmadiyya Sect
Guru Ram DasGuru Ram Das
09 October 1534
Fourth Sikh Guru

Chaitanya MahaprabhuChaitanya Mahaprabhu
18 February 1486
Founder of Gaudiya Vaishnavism

Guru ArjanGuru Arjan
15 April 1563
Fifth Sikh Guru

Nizamuddin AuliyaNizamuddin Auliya
1238 AD
Sufi Saint
Guru HargobindGuru Hargobind
05 July 1595
Sixth Sikh Guru
Maa Amritanandamayi Mata Amritanandamayi
27 September 1953
Spiritual Leader

Guru AngadGuru Angad
31 March 1504
Second Sikh Guru

Meher BabaMeher Baba
25 February 1894
Religious Leader

Guru Amar DasGuru Amar Das
05 May 1479
Third Sikh Guru
Guru Har RaiGuru Har Rai
16 January 1630
Seventh Sikh Guru

Continue Reading Below
Guru Har KrishanGuru Har Krishan
23 July 1656
Eighth Sikh Guru

Sri ChinmoySri Chinmoy
27 August 1931
Indian spiritual leader

Dayanand SaraswatiDayanand Saraswati
12 February 1824
Indian philosopher

Osho RajneeshOsho Rajneesh
11 December 1931
One of the most controversial spiritual leaders
Sri Sri Ravi ShankarSri Sri Ravi Shankar
13 May 1956
Spiritual & humanitarian leader

Anthony De MelloAnthony De Mello
04 September 1931
Authored books related to spirituality, lectures
Ramakrishna ParamhamsaRamakrishna Paramhamsa
18 February 1836
Spiritual & Religious Leader

Balaji Baji RaoBalaji Baji Rao
08 December 1720
Religious leader

Chinmayananda SaraswatiChinmayananda Saraswati
08 May 1916
Sadhu Sundar SinghSadhu Sundar Singh
03 September 1889

Mirza Tahir AhmadMirza Tahir Ahmad
18 December 1928
Translator, Homeopath, Writer
Gurumayi ChidvilasanandaGurumayi Chidvilasananda
24 June 1955

Hakeem Noor-ud-DinHakeem Noor-ud-Din
1841 AD

Raghavendra SwamiRaghavendra Swami
1595 AD

Swami SivanandaSwami Sivananda
08 September 1887
Spiritual & Yoga Teacher

08 September 1887
Keshab Chunder SenKeshab Chunder Sen
19 November 1838