“Where man in all his truest glory lives, And nature's face is exquisitely sweet; For those fair climes I heave impatient sigh, There let me live and there let me die.” Mention Bangladesh and you will find your mind wandering off to the poignant verses of Michael Madhusudan Dutta or seeking solace in the soulful melodies of Kazi Nazrul Islam. That is what Bangladesh has always been— a cosmos of brave, exemplary, and exceptionally talented Bengalis. Sadly, the country has often been shunned down as a third world nation jostling to find its foot in the world. But to tell the truth, Bangladesh, despite its fairly short history, has managed to stamp its greatness and how? The home to the Royal Bengal Tiger and the largest mangrove forest in the world, Bangladesh has been the address to many eminent men and women like Jibananda Das, Taslima Nasrin, Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Abdul Latif, Bimal Roy, Jagadish Chandra Bose and many more. Explore all about their lives in their timeline, trivia, and facts covered in their biographies below.
Sheikh HasinaSheikh Hasina
(Prime Minister of Bangladesh)

28 September 1947

Sheikh Mujibur RahmanSheikh Mujibur Rahman
(First Prime Minister of Bangladesh)

17 March 1920

Muhammad YunusMuhammad Yunus

28 June 1940

Kazi Nazrul IslamKazi Nazrul Islam
(National Poet of Bangladesh)

24 May 1899

Hussain Muhammad ErshadHussain Muhammad Ershad
(Former President of Bangladesh)

01 February 1930

Humayun AhmedHumayun Ahmed
(Writer, Filmmaker)

13 November 1948

Fazle Hasan AbedFazle Hasan Abed
(Social Worker)

27 April 1936

Muhammed Zafar IqbalMuhammed Zafar Iqbal

23 December 1952

Iqbal QuadirIqbal Quadir
(Founder of Grameenphone)

13 August 1958

Subir ChowdhurySubir Chowdhury

12 January 1967

Jewel AichJewel Aich

10 April 1950

Shahabuddin NagariShahabuddin Nagari

06 October 1955

Continue Reading Below

Salah ChoudhurySalah Choudhury
(The editor of The Weekly Blitz)

12 January 1965


06 December 1964

Shakib KhanShakib Khan
(Bangladeshi film actor)

28 March 1979

Khaleda ZiaKhaleda Zia

15 August 1945

Ziaur RahmanZiaur Rahman

19 January 1936

Taslima NasrinTaslima Nasrin
(Poet, Physician, Novelist, Essayist, Writer, Feminist)

25 August 1962

Continue Reading Below

Mashrafe MortazaMashrafe Mortaza

05 October 1983

Tamim IqbalTamim Iqbal

20 March 1989

Dino ShafeekDino Shafeek
(Comedian, Actor)

21 March 1930

Fazlur Rahman KhanFazlur Rahman Khan
(Civil engineer, Architect, Structural engineer)

03 April 1929

Mushfiqur RahimMushfiqur Rahim
(Bangladeshi cricketer)

09 June 1987

Apu BiswasApu Biswas

11 October 1983

Continue Reading Below

Mustafizur RahmanMustafizur Rahman
(Bangladeshi cricketer)

06 September 1995

Sajeeb WazedSajeeb Wazed

27 July 1971


11 July 1981

Runa LailaRuna Laila

17 November 1952

Jibanananda DasJibanananda Das
(Poet, Writer)

17 February 1899

Mohammad AshrafulMohammad Ashraful
(Bangladeshi cricketer)

07 July 1984

Continue Reading Below


1774 AD

Ziaul Faruq ApurbaZiaul Faruq Apurba
(Bangladeshi model)

27 June 1981

Mahiya MahiMahiya Mahi

27 October 1993

Tarique RahmanTarique Rahman

20 November 1964

Pritilata WaddedarPritilata Waddedar

05 May 1911

Allauddin KhanAllauddin Khan
(musician, composer, music educator)

1862 AD

Continue Reading Below


17 August 1942

Shah JalalShah Jalal

Soumya SarkarSoumya Sarkar
(Bangladeshi cricketer)

25 February 1993

M. A. G. OsmaniM. A. G. Osmani

01 September 1918

(Bangladeshi television actor)

1959 AD

Mosharraf KarimMosharraf Karim

22 August 1972

Continue Reading Below

Delwar Hossain SayeediDelwar Hossain Sayeedi
(Bangladeshi Politician)

01 February 1940

(Actor, Model)

03 November 1973

Sabbir RahmanSabbir Rahman
(Bangladeshi cricketer)

22 November 1991

Liton DasLiton Das
(Bangladeshi cricketer)

13 October 1994

Leepu Nizamuddin AwliaLeepu Nizamuddin Awlia
(Coachbuilder, Engineer)

01 October 1968

Zillur RahmanZillur Rahman
(Former President of Bangladesh)

09 March 1929

Continue Reading Below

Arifin ShuvoArifin Shuvo
(Bangladeshi film actor)

02 February 1982

Ferdous AhmedFerdous Ahmed
(Bangladeshi film actor)

07 June 1973

Taskin AhmedTaskin Ahmed
(Bangladeshi cricketer)

03 April 1995

Ananta JalilAnanta Jalil
(film director, film producer, businessperson, actor)

17 April 1978

Irene KhanIrene Khan

24 December 1956

Iajuddin AhmedIajuddin Ahmed
(Former President of Bangladesh)

01 February 1931

Continue Reading Below
Khaled MahmudKhaled Mahmud
(Bangladeshi cricketer)

26 July 1971

Joya AhsanJoya Ahsan

01 July 1972

Ali Ahsan Mohammad MojaheedAli Ahsan Mohammad Mojaheed

1948 AD

Thakur AnukulchandraThakur Anukulchandra

14 September 1888

Matiur RahmanMatiur Rahman
(Military pilot)

29 October 1941

Md. Abdul HamidMd. Abdul Hamid

01 January 1944