Perched on the eastern shore of Mediterranean sea, Israel has been locked in conflict ever since its independence in 1948. Much of the hullabaloo has been because Israel is considered holy land by the Jews, Christian and Muslim. Thus, the ownership of the land has been a matter of constant debate. The conflict with the Palestinians and neighbouring Arabs has dominated the politics of the country. Though the country does not have a written constitution, it follows a parliamentary system of government, with the Prime Minister as the executive head of the country. The political environment of Israel is marked by volatile coalition government. Ever since its independence, Israel has been ruled by skilled and efficient leaders, who have steered the country towards advancement and progress. Some of the popular Israeli political leaders who helped shaped the country’s magnificent present and future include David Ben-Gurion the country’s first Prime Minister followed by Moshe Sharett and Levi Eshkol. Other prominent leaders include Ariel Sharon, Ehud Barak, Yitzhak Shamir, Golda Meir, Shimon Peres, and current and third-time Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu. Browse through this section and discover some interesting life facts and works of Israeli political leaders.
Benjamin Netanyahu Benjamin Netanyahu
21 October 1949
Prime Minister
Golda MeirGolda Meir
03 May 1898
Former Prime Minister of Israel

Yitzhak RabinYitzhak Rabin
01 March 1922
5th Prime Minister of Israel

David Ben-GurionDavid Ben-Gurion
16 October 1886

Ariel SharonAriel Sharon
26 February 1928
Prime Minister of Israel

Shimon PeresShimon Peres
02 August 1923
Former President of Israel
Moshe DayanMoshe Dayan
20 May 1915
Israeli Military & Political Leader

Reuven RivlinReuven Rivlin
09 September 1939
10th President of Israel

Yitzhak ShamirYitzhak Shamir
22 October 1915
Former Prime Minister of Israel
George HabashGeorge Habash
02 August 1926
Founder of The Popular Front for the Liberation of

Abba EbanAbba Eban
02 February 1915
Politician and Diplomat
Emile HabibiEmile Habibi
29 August 1922

Haneen ZoabiHaneen Zoabi
23 May 1969
Member of the Knesset

Ehud BarakEhud Barak
12 February 1942
Politician, Diplomat, Officer

Ahmed YassinAhmed Yassin
28 June 1937

Ehud OlmertEhud Olmert
30 September 1945
Politician, Lawyer

DavidKing David
1040 BC
Herder, Sovereign, Singer, Prophet, Politician

Naftali BennettNaftali Bennett
25 March 1972
Politician, Businessperson, Officer, Manager

Levi EshkolLevi Eshkol
25 October 1895
Avigdor LiebermanAvigdor Lieberman
05 June 1958
politician, journalist, trade unionist

Herod ArchelausHerod Archelaus
0023 BC
Meir AmitMeir Amit
17 March 1921

1052 BC

Moshe KatsavMoshe Katsav
05 December 1945
President , Politician 
0634 BC

Tzipi LivniTzipi Livni
08 July 1958
Politician, Lawyer, Diplomat, Manager
Isser HarelIsser Harel
1912 AD
spy, politician, writer

Natan SharanskyNatan Sharansky
20 January 1948
Politician, Writer, Mathematician, Human rights

Moshe SharettMoshe Sharett
15 October 1894
Politician, Diplomat, Translator
Yigal AllonYigal Allon
10 October 1918
Politician, Military personnel

Continue Reading Below
Ezer WeizmanEzer Weizman
15 June 1924
Politician, Officer, Fighter pilot, Aviator
Tancred, Prince of GalileeTancred, Prince of Galilee
1072 AD
Political leader

Yair LapidYair Lapid
05 November 1963
Journalist, Writer, Politician, Actor, Television

Yitzhak Ben-ZviYitzhak Ben-Zvi
24 November 1884
Politician, Historian, Writer

Aryeh DeriAryeh Deri
17 February 1959
Amon of JudahAmon of Judah
0660 BC
Danny DanonDanny Danon
08 May 1971

Vladimir GusinskyVladimir Gusinsky
06 October 1952
Politician, Businessperson

Amaziah of JudahAmaziah of Judah
0802 BC

Miri RegevMiri Regev
26 May 1965
Politician, Spokesperson, Officer
Shaul MofazShaul Mofaz
04 November 1948
Politician, Officer

Teddy KollekTeddy Kollek
27 May 1911

Zalman ShazarZalman Shazar
24 November 1889
politician, journalist, writer,poet

Nir BarkatNir Barkat
19 October 1959
Politician, Entrepreneur, Businessperson

Yitzhak NavonYitzhak Navon
09 April 1921
Politician, Writer, Playwright, Educator
Tzipi HotovelyTzipi Hotovely
02 December 1978
Journalist, Politician, Writer, Lawyer

Shulamit AloniShulamit Aloni
27 December 1928
Mohammad Amin al-HusayniMohammad Amin al-Husayni
1895 AD
Grand Mufti of Jerusalem

Leah RabinLeah Rabin
28 April 1928

Dalia Rabin-PelossofDalia Rabin-Pelossof
19 March 1950
Politician, Lawyer
Pinhas LavonPinhas Lavon
12 July 1904

Silvan ShalomSilvan Shalom
04 August 1958
Diplomat, Politician, Economist
Yisrael GaliliYisrael Galili
10 February 1911

Yossi SaridYossi Sarid
24 October 1940
Journalist, Politician, Writer, Poet, Educator

Meir VilnerMeir Vilner
23 October 1918

Uzziah of JudahUzziah of Judah

Yosef LapidYosef Lapid
27 December 1931
Television presenter
0881 BC
King of Judah

Yuval Ne'emanYuval Ne'eman
14 May 1925