Russian political system is a framework styled in federal semi-presidential republic that is laid under the rules of the Constitution of Russia. As per the Constitution, the executive powers of running the country lies with the Prime Minister of Russia, as the President takes up a largely ceremonial role. Russian politics has witnessed a strong influx of political leaders ever since its inception. While some failed to exert great political control, there were others who exceled with their sharp acumen and administrative skills and still others who became a dominant political figure not just in Russia but the world over. Boris Yeltin was one such political figure of Russia. He served as the head of the government of the Russian Federation. Some other powerful political figures of Russia include Sergei Vladilenovich Kiriyenko, Vladimir Vladimirovich Putin, Viktor Borisovich Khristenko, Mikhail Yefimovich Fradkov, current Prime Minister Dmitry Anatolyevich Medvedev and so on. Each of them and others pushed Russia towards becoming a prosperous nation thus advancing its socio-economic and political structure and defending its national interests. To know more about the Russian political leaders, their life and their administrative and political powers, read through this section.
Joseph StalinJoseph Stalin
18 December 1878
Communist Revolutionary & Ruler of former USSR
Vladimir PutinVladimir Putin
07 October 1952
President of Russia

Vladimir LeninVladimir Lenin
22 April 1870
Former Premier of the Soviet Union

Mikhail GorbachevMikhail Gorbachev
02 March 1931
Former General Secretary of the Communist Party of

Nikita KhrushchevNikita Khrushchev
15 April 1894
Former Premier of the Soviet Union

Leon TrotskyLeon Trotsky
07 November 1879
Leonid BrezhnevLeonid Brezhnev
19 December 1906

Georgy MalenkovGeorgy Malenkov
08 January 1902

Boris YeltsinBoris Yeltsin
01 February 1931
Vyacheslav MolotovVyacheslav Molotov
09 March 1890

Roman AbramovichRoman Abramovich
24 October 1966
Business Tycoon
Yuri AndropovYuri Andropov
15 June 1914
Former General Secretary of the Communist Party of

Konstantin ChernenkoKonstantin Chernenko
24 September 1911
General Secretary of the Communist Party of the

Nikolai BulganinNikolai Bulganin
11 June 1895
Former Premier of the Soviet Union

Nikolai YezhovNikolai Yezhov
01 May 1895
Top Official of Soviet Secret Police

Alexander KerenskyAlexander Kerensky
22 April 1881
Political Leader
Lazar KaganovichLazar Kaganovich
22 November 1893

Nikolai BukharinNikolai Bukharin
09 October 1888

Kliment VoroshilovKliment Voroshilov
04 February 1881
Military Officer

Mikhail ProkhorovMikhail Prokhorov
03 May 1965
Business Tycoon
Mikhail KalininMikhail Kalinin
19 November 1875

Alexei KosyginAlexei Kosygin
20 February 1904
Former Premier of the Soviet Union
Lev KamenevLev Kamenev
18 July 1883
Revolutionary, Political Leader

Grigory ZinovievGrigory Zinoviev
23 September 1883
Bolshevik Revolutionary

Sergey LavrovSergey Lavrov
21 March 1950
Foreign Minister of Russia
Nicholas IINicholas II
18 May 1868

Anatoly ChubaisAnatoly Chubais
16 June 1955
Pavel GrudininPavel Grudinin
20 October 1960

Valeriya NovodvorskayaValeriya Novodvorskaya
17 May 1950
Russian Politician

Dmitry MedvedevDmitry Medvedev
14 September 1965
Jurist, Politician, Photographer, Blogger, Lawyer,
Ramzan KadyrovRamzan Kadyrov
05 October 1976

Continue Reading Below
Grigory PotemkinGrigory Potemkin
11 October 1739
linguist, military personnel
Eduard LimonovEduard Limonov
22 February 1943
Writer, Dissident, Politician, Poet, Human rights

Ivan V of RussiaIvan V of Russia
27 August 1666

Boris GodunovBoris Godunov
1551 AD
Tsar of Russia

Feodor III of RussiaFeodor III of Russia
09 June 1661
Sergey ShoyguSergey Shoygu
21 May 1955
Politician, Military personnel, Economist
Feodor I of RussiaFeodor I of Russia
31 May 1557

Vladislav SurkovVladislav Surkov
21 September 1964

Vladimir ZhirinovskyVladimir Zhirinovsky
25 April 1946
Jurist, Politician, Lawyer

Gennady ZyuganovGennady Zyuganov
26 June 1944
Pyotr StolypinPyotr Stolypin
14 April 1862

Sergei WitteSergei Witte
17 June 1849

Aslan MaskhadovAslan Maskhadov
21 September 1951
Political leader

Sergey SobyaninSergey Sobyanin
21 June 1958
Engineer, Jurist, Politician

Georgy LvovGeorgy Lvov
02 November 1861
Julius MartovJulius Martov
12 November 1873

Vasili III of RussiaVasili III of Russia
25 March 1479
Grand prince
Vasili IV of RussiaVasili IV of Russia
22 September 1552

Georgi DimitrovGeorgi Dimitrov
18 June 1882

Ivan SerovIvan Serov
25 August 1905
Dmitry YazovDmitry Yazov
08 November 1924

Andrei ZhdanovAndrei Zhdanov
14 February 1896
politician, military personnel
Nikolai RyzhkovNikolai Ryzhkov
28 September 1929

Valentina MatviyenkoValentina Matviyenko
07 April 1949
Q4379628, Diplomat, Politician

Grand Duke Konstantin Pavlovich of RussiaGrand Duke Konstantin Pavlovich of Russia
27 April 1779

Rodion MalinovskyRodion Malinovsky
10 November 1898
politician, officer, writer

Igor SechinIgor Sechin
07 September 1960
Politician, Entrepreneur
Ivan SilayevIvan Silayev
21 October 1930
Politician, Engineer

Bolesław BierutBolesław Bierut
18 April 1892
Political leader

Michael I of RussiaMichael I of Russia
12 July 1596

Sergo OrdzhonikidzeSergo Ordzhonikidze
24 October 1886
Sergey KirovSergey Kirov
27 March 1886

Sergei IvanovSergei Ivanov
31 January 1953
Politician, Diplomat
Andrey VyshinskyAndrey Vyshinsky
10 December 1883

Viktor AbakumovViktor Abakumov
11 April 1908

Viktor ChernomyrdinViktor Chernomyrdin
09 April 1938
Alexander RutskoyAlexander Rutskoy
16 September 1947
Politician, Military personnel, Economist

Yevgeny PrimakovYevgeny Primakov
29 October 1929
Geopolitician, Politician, Diplomat, Journalist,
Nikolai TikhonovNikolai Tikhonov
01 May 1905

Viktor ZubkovViktor Zubkov
15 September 1941
Politician, Entrepreneur, Economist

Ivan SavvidisIvan Savvidis
27 March 1959
Mikhail KasyanovMikhail Kasyanov
08 December 1957
Politician, Economist

Anatoly LunacharskyAnatoly Lunacharsky
11 November 1875
playwright, politician, writer, diplomat
Yury LuzhkovYury Luzhkov
21 September 1936
Politician, Scientist

Dmitriy UstinovDmitriy Ustinov
30 October 1908

Sergey NaryshkinSergey Naryshkin
27 October 1954
Politician, Economist

Vladimir GusinskyVladimir Gusinsky
06 October 1952
Politician, Businessperson
Imam ShamilImam Shamil
26 June 1797
Political leader
Alu AlkhanovAlu Alkhanov
20 January 1957

Kirsan IlyumzhinovKirsan Ilyumzhinov
05 April 1962
Businessperson, Politician, Journalist, Chess

Igor SmirnovIgor Smirnov
23 October 1941
Politician, Engineer, Economist

Mikhail FradkovMikhail Fradkov
01 September 1950
Politician, Economist
Pavel GrachevPavel Grachev
01 January 1948
Politician, Military personnel

Alexander LebedAlexander Lebed
20 April 1950
Russian politician

Valentin PavlovValentin Pavlov
27 September 1937
Former Premier of the Soviet Union

Elvira NabiullinaElvira Nabiullina
29 October 1963
Economist, Politician, Banker

Irina RodninaIrina Rodnina
12 September 1949
Dmitry RogozinDmitry Rogozin
21 December 1963
Journalist, Politician, Diplomat

Boris GromovBoris Gromov
07 November 1943
Vladimir PurishkevichVladimir Purishkevich
24 August 1870

Viktor KulikovViktor Kulikov
05 July 1921
Military officer
Alexander ShelepinAlexander Shelepin
18 August 1918
Sergey MironovSergey Mironov
14 February 1953