Richard K Morgan Biography

Richard K Morgan is a science fiction and fantasy author from Great Britain. Check out this biography to know about his birthday, childhood, family life, achievements, and fun facts about him.

Quick Facts

Birthday: September 24, 1965

Nationality: British

Famous: Novelists British Men

Age: 54 Years, 54 Year Old Males

Sun Sign: Libra

Also Known As: Richard Morgan

Born Country: England

Born in: London, England

Famous as: Author


Spouse/Ex-: Virginia Cottinelli

children: Daniel

Notable Alumni: Queens’ College, University Of Cambridge

More Facts

education: Queens’ College, University of Cambridge

Continue Reading Below

Richard K Morgan is a science fiction and fantasy author from Great Britain. Most of his books are based on the future and have an apocalyptic touch to them. He is often criticized for the extremely gloomy plots that most of his books have. He is also known for blending sci-fi with detective fiction to create a unique genre that piques the interest of both sci-fi and detective fiction fans equally. Some of his popular books that received great reviews from both the critics and readers alike are ‘Altered Carbon’, ‘Broken Angels’, ‘Woken Furies’ and the famous trilogy ‘A Land Fit for Heroes’. Altered Carbon’ became so successful that its rights were bought by the production unit Warner Brothers to be adapted into a movie. Though the movie failed to take off, it was recently made into a Netflix web series. Morgan is the proud recipient of the Arthur Clarke Award and Philip K. Dick Award. Apart from novels, he has also written the plot for the popular first-person shooter game ‘Crysis’. He has also worked with Liber Primus Games to create a gamebook series for Android, Apple and Amazon Kindle Fire devices.

Recommended Lists:

Recommended Lists:

Literary Career
  • Morgan's first novel ‘Altered Carbon’ was published in 2002. The book combined cyberpunk elements with detective fiction and featured the famous anti-hero, Takeshi Kovacs. He received the Philip K Dick Award for the US edition of this book in 2003. Film producer Joel Silver purchased the film rights of this book for the large amount of $1,000,000.
  • His second book with Takeshi Kovacs was published in 2003. It was titled ‘Broken Angels’ and was an apt sequel to ‘Altered Carbon’. His first novel without Kovacs was ‘Market Forces’, which was set in the near future. Though it was written as a short story initially, the success of his previous books made him convert this into a novel. This book was also considered for a film adaption. Richard Morgan's last book with Kovacs was titled ‘Woken Furies.’ It was published in 2005.
  • He also wrote two miniseries based on Marvel Comics. ‘Black Widow: Homecoming’ and ‘Black Widow: The Things They Say About Her’ were published in 2004 and 2005, respectively. The miniseries weren’t as successful as his novels and received only lukewarm response from the readers.
  • His next book titled ‘Black Man’ was published in 2007 in UK. It was published in USA as ‘Thirteen’. The book won the 2008 Arthur C. Clarke Award. Morgan also wrote the famous fantasy trilogy ‘A Land Fit for Heroes’. This book was unique as the protagonist was homosexual, a feature seldom seen in modern works of fiction. The first book in the trilogy named ‘The Steel Remains’ was published in 2008 in UK and in 2009 in the United States. The second book in the series was titled ‘Cold Commands’ and the third book was titled ‘Dark Defiles’, which were published in 2011 and 2014, respectively. One of his recent novels is ‘Thin Air’, another science fiction novel published in 2018.
You May Like
Recommended Lists:

Recommended Lists:

Continue Reading Below
Family & Personal Life
  • Richard K Morgan was born in 1965 in Norfolk, East London. He was later brought up in the village of Hethersett, near Norwich. He graduated in history from Queen’s College in Cambridge. After completing his education, he started teaching English and eventually took a post at the University of Strathclyde.
  • Morgan is a fluent Spanish speaker who has lived in multiple countries such as Spain, Turkey, UK, and Scotland. He has also traveled across North America, South America, Africa, and Australia.
  • He is married to a woman named Virginia. They have a son named Daniel. The family currently lives in Norfolk.

Follow Richard K Morgan On:

How To Cite

Article Title
- Richard K Morgan Biography
- Editors,
Richard K Morgan

People Also Viewed

Alex Garland
Lucy Hawking
China Miéville
Alastair Reynolds

John Fowles
William Golding
J. K. Rowling