William Golding Biography


Birthday: September 19, 1911 (Virgo)

Born In: Newquay

Sir William Gerald Golding was an English poet, novelist and a playwright. He went to Oxford to study natural science in order to become a scientist but 2 years after studying science he developed a love for literature and writing and changed his subjects to philosophy and literature. He got his first collection of poems published before he graduated but it did not gather much critical attention. He started teaching English at a school after graduating but abandoned the job to join Royal Navy to serve in the World War II. After his stint in the army for around 5 years, he came back to teaching and got his first novel ‘Lord of the Flies’ published after facing 21 initial rejections from the publishing houses. He wrote many novels after this but ‘Lord of the Flies’ proved to be the biggest success in his literary career. His writing mostly depicted his experiences with the army, war, brutality of the human nature and a will to survive. He won a Nobel Prize and was knighted by the Queen of England.
Quick Facts

British Celebrities Born In September

Also Known As: Sir William Gerald Golding

Died At Age: 81


Spouse/Ex-: Ann Brookfield

father: Alec Golding

mother: Mildred

children: David - Judith Diana

Quotes By William Golding Nobel Laureates In Literature

Died on: June 19, 1993

place of death: Perranarworthal

More Facts

education: Brasenose College, Oxford - St John's School and Community College - University of Oxford,


Childhood & Early Years
William Golding was born on 19 September 1911 at his grandmother’s house in Newquay, Cornwall, England, to Alec and Mildred Golding. He grew up with his elder brother in Wiltshire. His father taught at the Marlborough Grammar School.
His mother was an active suffragette and fought for women’s right. He and his brother went to his father’s school where Golding was subjected to bullying and alienation, which is exclusively mentioned in his only biography written by John Carey.
He attended the Brasenose College, Oxford, where he was initially educated to be a scientist and he studied natural science for 2 years but he developed an interest in literature and got himself transferred to English literature and philosophy.
Continue Reading Below
In 1934, around the time when Golding was about to graduate from the Oxford, his book of poetry called ‘Poems’ was published by Macmillan & Co, London. It was materialized with the help of his oxford friend Adam Bittleston.
For a short period of time he worked at a settlement house and in theatre companies, exploring himself as an actor and a writer and eventually started to teach English and philosophy at Bishop’s Wordsworth’s School in Salisbury in 1935.
In 1940, Golding abandoned teaching and joined the Royal Navy to participate in World War II. He spent next 5 years of his life serving his nation and travelling on a boat. After his stint with the war, he went back to teaching.
In 1954, after facing at least 21 rejections from publishing companies all over England, Golding finally got his first work of fiction ‘Lord of the flies’ published by Faber & Faber, London. The book was based on the brutality of human nature.
The novel was based on his experiences that he gathered from working with the army in the adversity of the war. The story revolves around a bunch of adolescent boys who are left alone on an island and how they turn against each other in order to survive.
In 1955, he got another novel published with the name of ‘The Inheritors’. This was one of Golding’s most famous novels from his literary career. It was based on the violent and deceptive nature of human beings.
In 1956, his ‘Pincher Martin’ came out and it was a work of fiction that drew its inspiration from Golding’s experience with the army, war, survival and brutality, like ‘Lord of the Flies’. The protagonist of the novel is shown to be struggling hard to survive.
In 1959, the extension of his previous novel ‘Pincher Martin’ came out and it was called ‘Free Fall’. The main character of the novel is an artist who is narrating the whole story and struggling with the conflict between rationality and faith.
In 1964, Golding got ‘The Spire’ published, a fiction that deals with the concept of faith. The novel revolves around the whimsical thought of building an immense spire at the top of a cathedral by the dean of the cathedral.
Continue Reading Below
In 1967, ‘The Pyramid’ was published. It is a novel based on music and the English society shown through a narrow point of view of an imaginary village in England named as Stilbourne. His next book was called ‘The Scorpion God: Three Short Novels’.
In 1979, ‘Darkness Visible’ was published. Golding explored the interdependence of the good and evil in this work of fiction. Next came ‘The Paper Men’ which was famously called out to be the worst work of his literary career.
From 1980-1989, ‘The Sea Trilogy’ was published. It comprised of three full length novels, ‘Rites of Passage’, ‘Close Quarters’ and ‘Fire Down Below’, in which emotional growth and moral enlightenment of a young voyager is portrayed.
In 1990, a film adaptation of Golding’s classic ‘Lord of the Flies’ came out. It was the second film adaptation of the novel - the first one was made in the 1960s by Peter Brook. The movies were critically acclaimed like the novel.
Other works of Golding include: ‘the Double Tongue’, ‘Pooman and Young’, ‘Heskey’s Biografy’, ‘The Hot Gates’, ‘An Egyptian Journal’, ‘The Brass Butterfly’, ‘The Pyramid’, ‘To the Ends of the Earth’, ‘A moving Target’, etc.
Awards & Achievements
In the 1980s Golding was recognized for his classical and critically acclaimed work ‘Lord of the Flies’ and was awarded with a Nobel Prize at the age of 73, nearly 2 decades after the novel was first written. He was also knighted by the queen.
Personal Life & Legacy
In 1939, Golding got married to Ann Brookfield, an analytic chemist and had two children with her, Judith and David. He remained married to her until his death and died beside her at their house in Cornwall.
In 1993, Golding died of heart failure in Tullimaar House at Perranarworthal, Cornwall. He is buried in the village churchyard, South Wiltshire. His son David and daughter Judith now lives at the Tullimaar House.
After Golding’s death, his novel ‘The Double Tongue’ was published.
‘Seahorse’, ‘Circle Under the Sea’ and ‘Short Measure’ are amongst some of his works that never got published.
Golding was of a reclusive nature and did not give many interviews to the media and always restrained from getting any biography published on himself.
It was after his death that John Carey came up with his only biography called ‘William Golding: The Man Who Wrote Lord of the Flies’.

See the events in life of William Golding in Chronological Order

How To Cite

Article Title
- William Golding Biography
- Editors, TheFamousPeople.com
- TheFamousPeople.com

People Also Viewed

Roald Dahl Biography
Roald Dahl
J. K. Rowling Biography
J. K. Rowling
Alex Garland Biography
Alex Garland
Robert Greene Biography
Robert Greene
(American, British)
Lucy Hawking Biography
Lucy Hawking
Kazuo Ishiguro Biography
Kazuo Ishiguro
Tess Daly Biography
Tess Daly
Mark Gatiss Biography
Mark Gatiss