Politics of any country is a reflection of its heritage, ideology and culture and Pakistan’s political system is no different. Having a distinctive combination of parliamentary, presidential and military system, Pakistan’s politics have been an embodiment of the country’s traditions and culture. A multi-party democracy, Pakistan has numerous parties who at different times have taken office and ruled the country through their varied governing methods. Pakistan has produced some of the world famous political leaders in the form of Liaquat Ali Khan, Muhammad Ayub Khan, Muhamad Zia ul Haq, Benazir Bhutto, Pervez Muharraf, Shaukat Aziz or current Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, who has taken office for a third time. Each of them and many others has exhibited strong nationalist emotions and has safeguarded Pakistan’s culture, either through democratic means or dictatorship. They all have been active in national politics and a central figure in the country’s administrative, political, economic and social reforms. They have moulded the country’s political institution to sync it with the significant advancement and modernization of the world. With this section, explore an extensive collection of biographies of some of the most popular Pakistani political leaders. Read in details about their life, works and career.

Muhammad Zia-ul-HaqMuhammad Zia-ul-Haq
12 August 1924
Politician, Officer

Hina Rabbani KharHina Rabbani Khar
19 November 1977
Diplomat, Politician, Entrepreneur, Economist

Hafiz Muhammad SaeedHafiz Muhammad Saeed
10 March 1950
Politician, Terrorist
Bilawal Bhutto ZardariBilawal Bhutto Zardari
21 September 1988

Salmaan TaseerSalmaan Taseer
31 May 1944
politician, businessperson, entrepreneur,
Yahya KhanYahya Khan
04 February 1917

Maryam NawazMaryam Nawaz
28 October 1973

Aamir Liaquat HussainAamir Liaquat Hussain
05 July 1971
Shah Mehmood QureshiShah Mehmood Qureshi
22 June 1956

Murtaza BhuttoMurtaza Bhutto
18 September 1954
Jogendra Nath MandalJogendra Nath Mandal
29 January 1904

Yousaf Raza GillaniYousaf Raza Gillani
09 June 1952
Journalist, Politician

Huseyn Shaheed SuhrawardyHuseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy
08 September 1892

Mamnoon HussainMamnoon Hussain
23 December 1940
Politician, Entrepreneur
Ishaq DarIshaq Dar
13 May 1950
Economist, Financier, Politician
Malik Ghulam MuhammadMalik Ghulam Muhammad
20 April 1895
Financier, Politician

Akbar BugtiAkbar Bugti
12 July 1927

Choudhry Rahmat AliChoudhry Rahmat Ali
16 November 1897

Shahnawaz BhuttoShahnawaz Bhutto
21 November 1958
Asma JahangirAsma Jahangir
27 January 1952
Human rights activist, Lawyer

Shah Nawaz BhuttoShah Nawaz Bhutto
1888 AD

Ghulam Ishaq KhanGhulam Ishaq Khan
20 January 1915
Politician, Financier

Marvi MemonMarvi Memon
21 August 1972

Ghulam Mustafa KharGhulam Mustafa Khar
1937 AD
Muhammad Zafarullah KhanMuhammad Zafarullah Khan
06 February 1893
Politician, Diplomat, Judge, Lawyer

Farooq LeghariFarooq Leghari
29 May 1940
Diplomat, Politician
Wasim SajjadWasim Sajjad
30 March 1941
Politician, Lawyer

Ayub KhanAyub Khan
14 May 1907
Former President of Pakistan

Khawaja Muhammad AsifKhawaja Muhammad Asif
09 August 1949
Politician, Banker
Kalsoom Nawaz SharifKalsoom Nawaz Sharif
1950 AD
Pakistani Politician

Syed Mustafa KamalSyed Mustafa Kamal
27 December 1971
Khurshid Mahmud KasuriKhurshid Mahmud Kasuri
19 June 1941
diplomat, politician, lawyer

Ameen FaheemAmeen Faheem
04 August 1939

Nisar Ali KhanNisar Ali Khan
31 July 1954

Abdul Aziz GhaziAbdul Aziz Ghazi
1960 AD

Shaikh Rasheed AhmadShaikh Rasheed Ahmad
06 November 1950