Unlike the other super powers like America and Great Britain, Germany’s political system is relatively new. It was in 1949 that the current political system of Germany was developed after the country was consolidated as the Federal Republic of Germany. Germany is a democratic, federal parliamentary republic with the Chancellor as the executive head. The role of the Chancellor is equivalent to that of a Prime Minister as in other countries. Ever since its independence, Germany has had numerous political leaders donning the role and responsibility of the Chancellor, right from its first Chancellor Konrad Adenauer who was followed by Ludwig Erhard to Willy Brandt, Helmut Schmidt, Helmut Kohl, Gerhard Schorder and the current and three times Chancellor in a row Angela Merkel. Merkel created history in 2005 by becoming the first female Chancellor to head Germany. However, before the Federal Republic of Germany was formed, the German empire witnessed the rule of some of historical Chancellors who through their deeds and misdeeds, exerted great influence in the world over. Adolf Hitler is one such name. A fanatical leader and initiator of World War II, he led Germany and many other countries into the abyss. Others include Catherine the Great, Martin Bormann, Joseph Goebbels and like. Explore in details about the life and works of German political leaders with this segment.
Adolf HitlerAdolf Hitler

20 April 1889

Joseph GoebbelsJoseph Goebbels

29 October 1897

Angela MerkelAngela Merkel

17 July 1954

Otto von BismarckOtto von Bismarck

01 April 1815

Rudolf HessRudolf Hess

26 April 1894

Karl DönitzKarl Dönitz

16 September 1891

Martin BormannMartin Bormann

17 June 1900

Konrad AdenauerKonrad Adenauer

05 January 1876

Helmut KohlHelmut Kohl

03 April 1930

Willy BrandtWilly Brandt

18 December 1913

Continue Reading Below

Johannes RauJohannes Rau

16 January 1931

Lord ActonLord Acton

10 January 1834

Rudolf HössRudolf Höss

25 November 1901

Leopold I of BelgiumLeopold I of Belgium

16 December 1790

Frederick III, German EmperorFrederick III, German Emperor

1831 AD

William JoyceWilliam Joyce

24 April 1906

Continue Reading Below

Magda GoebbelsMagda Goebbels

11 November 1901

Erich HoneckerErich Honecker

25 August 1912

William the SilentWilliam the Silent

24 April 1533

Franz von PapenFranz von Papen

29 October 1879

Sigismund, Holy Roman EmperorSigismund, Holy Roman Emperor

14 February 1368

Frank-Walter SteinmeierFrank-Walter Steinmeier

05 January 1956

Continue Reading Below

Gerhard SchröderGerhard Schröder

07 April 1944

Roland FreislerRoland Freisler

30 October 1893

Klemens von MetternichKlemens von Metternich

15 May 1773

Otto I, Holy Roman EmperorOtto I, Holy Roman Emperor

23 November 0912

Hans FrankHans Frank

23 May 1900

Anton DrexlerAnton Drexler

13 June 1884

Continue Reading Below

Clara ZetkinClara Zetkin

05 July 1857

Friedrich EbertFriedrich Ebert

04 February 1871

Frederick William III of PrussiaFrederick William III of Prussia

03 August 1770

Helmuth von Moltke the ElderHelmuth von Moltke the Elder

26 October 1800

Kurt von SchleicherKurt von Schleicher

07 April 1882

Hjalmar SchachtHjalmar Schacht

22 January 1877

Continue Reading Below

Ananda MahidolAnanda Mahidol

20 September 1925

Helmut SchmidtHelmut Schmidt

23 December 1918

Lina HeydrichLina Heydrich

14 June 1911

Manfred RommelManfred Rommel

24 December 1928

Frederick William IV of PrussiaFrederick William IV of Prussia

15 October 1795

Walter UlbrichtWalter Ulbricht

30 June 1893

Continue Reading Below

Baldur von SchirachBaldur von Schirach

09 May 1907

Manfred WeberManfred Weber

14 July 1972

Wilhelm FrickWilhelm Frick

12 March 1877

Henry IV, Holy Roman EmperorHenry IV, Holy Roman Emperor

11 November 1050

Nero Claudius DrususNero Claudius Drusus

14 January 0038

Gregor StrasserGregor Strasser

31 May 1892

Continue Reading Below

Ludwig III of BavariaLudwig III of Bavaria

07 January 1845

Lutz Graf Schwerin von KrosigkLutz Graf Schwerin von Krosigk

22 August 1887

Emil MauriceEmil Maurice

19 January 1897

Robert LeyRobert Ley

15 February 1890

Ferdinand I of RomaniaFerdinand I of Romania

24 August 1865

Egon KrenzEgon Krenz

19 March 1937

Continue Reading Below
Karl LiebknechtKarl Liebknecht

13 January 1871

Carol I of RomaniaCarol I of Romania

20 April 1839

Kurt EisnerKurt Eisner

14 May 1867

Wolfgang SchäubleWolfgang Schäuble

18 September 1942

Augustus II the StrongAugustus II the Strong
Karl Hermann FrankKarl Hermann Frank

24 January 1898

Continue Reading Below
Ernst ThälmannErnst Thälmann

16 April 1886

Ursula von der LeyenUrsula von der Leyen

08 October 1958

Ludwig ErhardLudwig Erhard

04 February 1897

Artur AxmannArtur Axmann

18 February 1913

Otto StrasserOtto Strasser

10 September 1897

Konstantin von NeurathKonstantin von Neurath

02 February 1873

Continue Reading Below

Juana BormannJuana Bormann

10 September 1893

Wilhelm PieckWilhelm Pieck

03 January 1876

Richard von WeizsäckerRichard von Weizsäcker

15 April 1920

Theodor HeussTheodor Heuss

31 January 1884

Alfred von TirpitzAlfred von Tirpitz

19 March 1849

Eduard BernsteinEduard Bernstein

06 January 1850

Continue Reading Below

Walter HallsteinWalter Hallstein

17 November 1901

Henry the LionHenry the Lion

1129 AD

Martin SchulzMartin Schulz

20 December 1955

Prince Maximilian of BadenPrince Maximilian of Baden

10 July 1867

Henry VI, Holy Roman EmperorHenry VI, Holy Roman Emperor

31 October 1165

Josef TerbovenJosef Terboven

23 May 1898

Continue Reading Below

Carl Friedrich GoerdelerCarl Friedrich Goerdeler

31 July 1884

Joachim GauckJoachim Gauck

24 January 1940

Pyotr StolypinPyotr Stolypin

14 April 1862