The great scientific theories such as ‘Gravity’ and ‘Relativity’ are the creations of the western world which reached the Indian shores much later.  However, most people don’t know that ‘Science’ in ‘India’ has a glorious history. India holds the reputation of being the birthplace of geniuses such as Aryabhatta. The man is well-known for apparently introducing the world to the digit ‘0(Zero)’, a mammoth contribution to the number theory. Famous physicians such as Charaka and Sushruta had even penned texts on the medicinal uses of plants, which continue to be useful in curing dreaded ailments even today. Other famous Indians who have contributed immensely to the field of science are Ramanujam, Sir C.V Raman, Homi Bhabha, M. Visvesvaraya, and J.C Bose. The discoveries of some of these sharp minds range from theories of mathematics such as Calculus to modern day nuclear physics. The Indian Space Research Organization, popularly known as ‘ISRO’ is considered to be one of the best space agencies in the world. Many scientists of the space agency worked together to make the nation proud with projects such as the ‘Mars Mission’ and the ‘Moon Mission’ etc. The achievements of these intelligent minds have also garnered a lot of appreciation from world over. Explore our extensive collection of biographies of some of the most prominent Indian Scientists, and learn all about their life stories, timelines as well as some interesting facts and trivia pertaining to their lives.

Srinivasa RamanujanSrinivasa Ramanujan

22 December 1887


0476 AD

Shakuntala DeviShakuntala Devi

04 November 1929

Jagadish Chandra BoseJagadish Chandra Bose

30 November 1858

Vikram SarabhaiVikram Sarabhai

12 August 1919

Satyendra Nath BoseSatyendra Nath Bose

01 January 1894

A.P.J. Abdul KalamA.P.J. Abdul Kalam

15 October 1931

M. S. SwaminathanM. S. Swaminathan

07 August 1925

Salim AliSalim Ali

12 November 1896

Continue Reading Below

C.N.R. RaoC. N. R. Rao

30 June 1934

C.V. RamanC.V. Raman

07 November 1888

Prafulla Chandra RayPrafulla Chandra Ray

02 August 1861

Meghnad SahaMeghnad Saha

06 October 1893

Continue Reading Below

Shanti Swaroop BhatnagarShanti Swaroop Bhatnagar

21 February 1894

Homi BhabhaHomi Bhabha

30 October 1909

Upendranath BrahmachariUpendranath Brahmachari

19 December 1873

Rajnath SinghRajnath Singh

10 July 1951

Continue Reading Below

C. V. RamanC. V. Raman

07 November 1888

Homi J. BhabhaHomi J. Bhabha

30 October 1909

Sudha MurthySudha Murthy

19 August 1950

Abdul Qadeer KhanAbdul Qadeer Khan

01 April 1936

Vandana ShivaVandana Shiva

05 November 1952

J. B. S. HaldaneJ. B. S. Haldane

05 November 1892

Continue Reading Below

Akshay VenkateshAkshay Venkatesh

21 November 1981

Jayant NarlikarJayant Narlikar

19 July 1938

E. C. George SudarshanE. C. George Sudarshan

16 September 1931

Pranav MistryPranav Mistry

14 May 1981

Raja RamannaRaja Ramanna

28 January 1925

Narinder Singh KapanyNarinder Singh Kapany

12 October 1926

Continue Reading Below

Raghunath Anant MashelkarRaghunath Anant Mashelkar

01 January 1943

Tessy ThomasTessy Thomas

31 March 1963

Anil KakodkarAnil Kakodkar

11 November 1943

Raj ReddyRaj Reddy

13 June 1937

Augustus De MorganAugustus De Morgan

27 June 1806


11 October 1924

Continue Reading Below

Vijay P. BhatkarVijay P. Bhatkar

11 October 1946

S. R. RanganathanS. R. Ranganathan

09 August 1892

Madhava of SangamagramaMadhava of Sangamagrama

1350 AD

Ashoke SenAshoke Sen

15 July 1956

Yellapragada SubbarowYellapragada Subbarow

12 January 1895


1089 AD

Continue Reading Below

Subhash KakSubhash Kak

26 March 1947

S. R. Srinivasa VaradhanS. R. Srinivasa Varadhan

02 January 1940

Tathagat Avatar TulsiTathagat Avatar Tulsi

09 September 1987

Manindra AgrawalManindra Agrawal

20 May 1966

G. N. RamachandranG. N. Ramachandran

08 October 1922

Nilakantha SomayajiNilakantha Somayaji

14 June 1444

Continue Reading Below
Mahan MjMahan Mj

05 April 1967

Amal Kumar RaychaudhuriAmal Kumar Raychaudhuri

14 September 1924

Raj Chandra BoseRaj Chandra Bose

19 June 1901

Ziauddin AhmadZiauddin Ahmad

Raghunath Dhondo KarveRaghunath Dhondo Karve
R. P. ParanjpeR. P. Paranjpe

Continue Reading Below
S. RamananS. Ramanan

20 July 1937

Ganesh PrasadGanesh Prasad


Bapudeva SastriBapudeva Sastri

Subhash MukhopadhyaySubhash Mukhopadhyay

16 January 1931

Abhas MitraAbhas Mitra

03 June 1955