Famous Indian Physicists

How would have life been without the invention of the mobile phone? Would communication be as rapid and rampant as it is today? What if light bulb was never invented? Would you have known the universe like you do today had scientists not researched on it? From the humble light bulb to the magnanimous space explorations, scientists have given us numerous gifts of life which we often take for granted. Had it not been for the great minds, life wouldn’t have been this easy and technology this advanced! It is to these inordinate and prodigious talents that we owe much of our existence. This segment commemorates the offerings by great Indian physicists whose contribution is simply immeasurable. CV Raman was a pioneer of light effect. He was the first to discover that light changes its wavelength after traversing from a transparent material. It is for his work on scattering of light that he was bestowed with a Nobel Prize. Homi J Bhabha was yet another noted physicist who played an important role in Quantum Theory. Venkatraman Radhakrishnan was a globally renowned astrophysicist and was famous for designing ultra-light aircraft and sailboats. Other prominent Indian physicists include Jagdish Chandra Bose, Meghnad Saha, SN Bose, S Chandrashekhar, APJ Abdul Kalam and so on. Read further to get updated information on the life and works of Indian physicists.

This ranking is based on an algorithm that combines various factors, including the votes of our users and search trends on the internet.

Vote for Your Favourite Indian Physicists

 1 C.V. Raman

C.V. Raman
Famous As: Physicist
Birthdate: November 7, 1888
Sun Sign: Scorpio
Birthplace: Tiruchirappalli, Madras Province
Died: November 21, 1970
Indian physicist C.V. Raman earned the Nobel Prize in Physics after discovering the Raman effect. He was the first director of the IISc and founded the Indian Academy of Sciences and the Raman Research Institute. He destroyed his Bharat Ratna medal in protest against Jawaharlal Nehru’s policies on science.

 2 Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar
Birthdate: October 19, 1910
Sun Sign: Libra
Birthplace: Lahore, British India
Died: August 21, 1995
Recommended Lists:

 3 Vikram Sarabhai

Vikram Sarabhai
Famous As: Scientist
Birthdate: August 12, 1919
Sun Sign: Leo
Birthplace: Ahmedabad, India
Died: December 30, 1971

 4 Satyendra Nath Bose

Satyendra Nath Bose
Birthdate: January 1, 1894
Sun Sign: Capricorn
Birthplace: Kolkata, India
Died: February 4, 1974

 5 Jagadish Chandra Bose

Jagadish Chandra Bose
Famous As: Physicist
Birthdate: November 30, 1858
Sun Sign: Sagittarius
Birthplace: Bikrampur, Bengal Presidency, British India (Now Munshiganj District of Bangladesh)
Died: November 23, 1937

 6 Narinder Singh Kapany

Narinder Singh Kapany
Famous As: physicist, scientist, university teacher
Birthdate: October 12, 1926
Sun Sign: Libra
Birthplace: Faridkot, Punjab

 7 Amal Kumar Raychaudhuri

Amal Kumar Raychaudhuri
Famous As: physicist
Birthdate: September 14, 1924
Sun Sign: Virgo
Birthplace: Barisal
Died: June 18, 2005
You May Like

 8 Homi Bhabha

Homi Bhabha
Famous As: Indian physicist
Birthdate: October 30, 1909
Sun Sign: Scorpio
Birthplace: Mumbai, India
Died: January 24, 1966

 9 Rajnath Singh

Rajnath Singh
Famous As: Politician
Birthdate: July 10, 1951
Sun Sign: Cancer
Birthplace: Chandauli district

 10 Jayant Narlikar

Jayant Narlikar
Famous As: Physicist, Astronomer, Astrophysicist, Scientist, University teacher, Science fiction writer
Birthdate: July 19, 1938
Sun Sign: Cancer
Birthplace: Kolhapur

 11 Meghnad Saha

Meghnad Saha
Famous As: Physicist
Birthdate: October 6, 1893
Sun Sign: Libra
Birthplace: Shaoratoli, Dhaka, Bangladesh, British India
Died: February 16, 1956

 12 E. C. George Sudarshan

E. C. George Sudarshan
Famous As: Physicist, University teacher
Birthdate: September 16, 1931
Sun Sign: Virgo
Birthplace: Kottayam district

Padma Vibhushan winner and nine-time Nobel Prize nominee theoretical physicist E. C. George Sudarshan was born in India but moved to the U.S. to study at the University of Rochester. He later joined Harvard and made ground-breaking discoveries in topics such as quantum optics, tachyons, and the quantum Zeno effect.

 13 Ashoke Sen

Ashoke Sen
Famous As: Physicist
Birthdate: July 15, 1956
Sun Sign: Cancer
Birthplace: Kolkata

 14 Raja Ramanna

Raja Ramanna
Famous As: Physicist, Politician
Birthdate: January 28, 1925
Sun Sign: Aquarius
Birthplace: Tumkur
Died: September 24, 2004

 15 Tathagat Avatar Tulsi

Tathagat Avatar Tulsi
Famous As: Physicist
Birthdate: September 9, 1987
Sun Sign: Virgo
Birthplace: Madhubani

 16 G. N. Ramachandran

G. N. Ramachandran
Famous As: Physicist
Birthdate: October 8, 1922
Sun Sign: Libra
Birthplace: Ernakulam
Died: April 7, 2001

 17 Sekhar Basu

Sekhar Basu
Famous As: Scientist
Birthdate: September 20, 1952
Sun Sign: Virgo
Birthplace: Muzaffarpur, Bihar, India
Died: September 24, 2020

 18 Abhas Mitra

Abhas Mitra
Famous As: physicist, astronomer
Birthdate: June 3, 1955
Sun Sign: Gemini
Birthplace: India