Australia has been one of the most powerful countries in the world. A developed country and also one of the wealthiest, it has second highest human development index and is the 12th largest economy. Furthermore, it has fifth highest per capita income and 13th largest military in the world. But much of that wouldn’t have been possible had it not been for the leaders that drove the country towards advancement and progress. The Prime Minister of Australia is the highest government minister and holds the most important political office of the country. He is not just the head of the government but the head of the Cabinet as well. Since federation, the country has had 29 Prime Ministers. The most prominent amongst them was Sir Robert Menzies, the longest-serving prime minister who served for 18 years from 1939 to 1941 and 1949 to 1966. John Howard was another Premier who served for more than a decade, from 1996 to 2007. In their premiership, they encouraged economic, social and industrial reforms. Other important premiers of Australia include Sir John Gorton, Paul Keating, Julia Gillard, Tony Abott and the incumbent Prime Minister of Australia Malcolm Turnbull. Check this segment to find out details about Australian Prime Ministers, their life and their works.
Scott MorrisonScott Morrison
13 May 1968
Prime Minister of Australia
Julia GillardJulia Gillard
29 September 1961
Former Prime Minister of Australia

Malcolm TurnbullMalcolm Turnbull
24 October 1954
Journalist, Politician, Entrepreneur, Lawyer,

Tony AbbottTony Abbott
04 November 1957
Former Prime Minister of Australia

Harold HoltHarold Holt
05 August 1908
Former Prime Minister of Australia

John Howard John Howard
26 July 1939
Former Prime Minister of Australia
Gough WhitlamGough Whitlam
11 July 1916
Former Prime Minister of Australia

Bob HawkeBob Hawke
09 December 1929
23rd Prime Minister of Australia

John CurtinJohn Curtin
08 January 1885
14th Prime Minister of Australia
Robert MenziesRobert Menzies
20 December 1894
12th Prime Minister of Australia

Paul KeatingPaul Keating
18 January 1944
William McMahonWilliam McMahon
23 February 1908
Former Prime Minister of Australia

Edmund BartonEdmund Barton
18 January 1849
Former Prime Minister of Australia

Alfred DeakinAlfred Deakin
03 August 1856
Former Prime Minister of Australia

Kevin RuddKevin Rudd
21 September 1957
Former Prime Minister of Australia

Billy HughesBilly Hughes
25 September 1862
Prime Minister
Ben ChifleyBen Chifley
22 September 1885

Joseph LyonsJoseph Lyons
15 September 1879

Stanley BruceStanley Bruce
15 April 1883

John McEwenJohn McEwen
29 March 1900
Chris WatsonChris Watson
09 April 1867

James ScullinJames Scullin
18 September 1876
Prime minister of Australia
Arthur FaddenArthur Fadden
13 April 1894

Earle PageEarle Page
08 August 1880
Prime minister of Australia

Joseph CookJoseph Cook
07 December 1860
George ReidGeorge Reid
25 February 1845

George WaterhouseGeorge Waterhouse
06 April 1824