Though Pakistan may have faced great political turmoil in its more than 60 years of existence, one cannot deny that it has had numerous prime ministers who have risen above the notorious clan and done much for their country. It is to these prime ministers of Pakistan that we dedicate this section. Even since its independence from India in 1947, Pakistan has followed a democratic parliamentary federal republic, wherein the President of the country serves as the head of the state while the Prime Minister is the head of the government. The executive powers of running the country lie with the Prime Minister while the President has a largely ceremonial role. Following its independence, Liaquat Ali Khan served as the first Prime Minister of Pakistan. He was extremely influential but faced extreme political unrest internally in his 1542 days in power. Till date, he remains as the longest serving Pakistani Prime Minister closely followed by the current Nawaz Sharif. Nawaz Sharif is currently serving his third non-consecutive term as the Prime Minister of Pakistan. In doing so, he has created history by becoming the only Pakistani prime minister to be elected thrice. Other than men, women too made their presence felt in Pakistan politics. Benazir Bhutto was the first woman in Pakistan to be elected as the Prime Minister of the country. She headed the country twice, in 1988 and later in 1993. Check this segment and know out more about Pakistani Prime Ministers.
Imran KhanImran Khan

05 October 1952

Benazir BhuttoBenazir Bhutto

21 June 1953

Zulfikar Ali BhuttoZulfikar Ali Bhutto

05 January 1928

Nawaz SharifNawaz Sharif

25 December 1949

Liaquat Ali KhanLiaquat Ali Khan

01 October 1895

Shaukat AzizShaukat Aziz

06 March 1949

Khawaja NazimuddinKhawaja Nazimuddin

19 July 1894

Muhammad Ali BograMuhammad Ali Bogra

19 October 1909