No country in the world can boast of having as rich a heritage and legacy as that of India! The land of the Golden Bird, India has been a mecca for literary lovers. The country has been the address of some of the most versatile and supremely talented poets, writers and novelists from across the world. Be it spiritual guru Kabir whose poetic works influenced the Bhakti movement or Meera the mystic singer and composer of Krishna Bhajans, Amir Khusrow the Sufi musician and poet or pre-independent India’s Abdul Rahim Khan-e-Khana, each of them have been an iconic figure in the cultural history of the country. But the list does not end here. The country served as the birthplace of many more significant poets whose works were a reflection of the social climate and a mirror for the society. These include Rabindranath Tagore, Mathili Sharan Gupt, Harivansh Rai Bachchan, Mahadevi Verma, Sumitranandan Pant, Suryakant Tripathi Nirala, Ramdhari Singh Dinkar, Ramakrishna Paramhansa, and so on. The versatility of Indian poets is such that they have penned verses, ballads, couplets and sonnets not just in Hindi but colloquial languages of the different states of India as well. the world would forever stay indebted to their exemplary greatness. With some awe-inspiring biographies presented in the section below, read on to know in details about the life and works of Indian poets.
Rabindranath TagoreRabindranath Tagore
07 May 1861
Poet and Author
Vinayak Damodar SavarkarVinayak Damodar Savarkar
28 May 1883
Independence Activist, Reformer

Amrita PritamAmrita Pritam
31 August 1919

Sarojini NaiduSarojini Naidu
13 February 1879
Poet and Freedom Fighter

1440 AD
Saint and Mystic Poet

Savitribai PhuleSavitribai Phule
03 January 1831
Social Reformer, Poet
1497 AD
Poet & Saint

Amir KhusrowAmir Khusrow
1253 AD
Sufi Poet

Kazi Nazrul IslamKazi Nazrul Islam
24 May 1899
National Poet of Bangladesh

Vikram SethVikram Seth
20 June 1952
1498 AD
Bhakti Saint

Mirza GhalibMirza Ghalib
27 December 1797

18 August 1936
film director, film producer, screenwriter,

Javed AkhtarJaved Akhtar
17 January 1945
Screenwriter, Politician, Writer, Poet, Lyricist,
Meena KumariMeena Kumari
01 August 1933

Ashutosh RanaAshutosh Rana
10 November 1967
Kumar VishwasKumar Vishwas
10 February 1970

Suresh OberoiSuresh Oberoi
17 December 1946

1608 AD
poet, writer
Sahir LudhianviSahir Ludhianvi
08 March 1921
Poet, Lyricist, Songwriter

29 December 1904
Writer, Poet, Professor

Ramdhari Singh DinkarRamdhari Singh Dinkar
23 September 1908
Writer, Poet, Politician, Journalist, Literary

Shiv Kumar BatalviShiv Kumar Batalvi
23 July 1936
Author, Poet, Lyricist, Songwriter

Jaishankar PrasadJaishankar Prasad
30 January 1889
Purushottam Laxman DeshpandePurushottam Laxman Deshpande
08 November 1919
Author, Film director, Actor, Composer, Poet,
Bahadur Shah IIBahadur Shah II
24 October 1775

24 June 1927
Poet, Lyricist, Songwriter

13 July 1953
Author, Actor, Poet, Lyricist, Songwriter

Samarth RamdasSamarth Ramdas
1608 AD
Mahadevi VarmaMahadevi Varma
26 March 1907
Poet, Author, Writer

Continue Reading Below
D. R. BendreD. R. Bendre
31 January 1896

1478 AD

Abdul Rahim Khan-I-KhanaAbdul Rahim Khan-I-Khana
17 December 1556

Kamal AmrohiKamal Amrohi
17 January 1918
Irom Chanu SharmilaIrom Chanu Sharmila
14 March 1972
Poet, Journalist

Michael Madhusudan DuttMichael Madhusudan Dutt
25 January 1824
Poet, Writer
Chandrashekhara KambaraChandrashekhara Kambara
02 January 1937
Film director, Poet, Writer

Soumitra ChatterjeeSoumitra Chatterjee
19 January 1935

Mahasweta DeviMahasweta Devi
14 January 1926
Human rights activist, Writer, Poet, Novelist,
Mir Taqi MirMir Taqi Mir
1722 AD
author, poet

K. Shivaram KaranthK. Shivaram Karanth
10 October 1902
Author, Poet
Sukumar RaySukumar Ray
30 October 1887
Photographer, Poet, Writer, Illustrator,

Irshad KamilIrshad Kamil
05 September 1971
Poet, Writer, Lyricist, Songwriter

Majrooh SultanpuriMajrooh Sultanpuri
01 October 1919
Author, Poet, Lyricist, Songwriter

Na. MuthukumarNa. Muthukumar
13 July 1975
Poet, Lyricist, Writer, Songwriter

Sumitranandan PantSumitranandan Pant
20 May 1900
Writer, Poet
29 April 1891

Subhadra Kumari ChauhanSubhadra Kumari Chauhan
16 August 1904
Author, Poet

O. N. V. KurupO. N. V. Kurup
27 May 1931
Poet, Lyricist, Songwriter

Maithili Sharan GuptMaithili Sharan Gupt
03 August 1886
Linguist, Poet, Politician, Translator
Vallathol Narayana MenonVallathol Narayana Menon
16 October 1878

Jayachamarajendra WadiyarJayachamarajendra Wadiyar
18 July 1919
Poet, Composer, Philosopher, Philanthropist,
Bharatendu HarishchandraBharatendu Harishchandra
09 September 1850
Actor, Journalist, Writer, Poet

1450 AD
author, poet

Bibhutibhushan BandyopadhyayBibhutibhushan Bandyopadhyay
12 September 1894
Poet, Writer
03 January 1934
Writer, Human rights activist, Children's writer

Gurazada ApparaoGurazada Apparao
21 September 1862
author, poet
Jan Nisar AkhtarJan Nisar Akhtar
14 February 1914
author, poet, lyricist, songwriter

C. Narayana ReddyC. Narayana Reddy
29 July 1931
Author, Politician, Poet, Lyricist, Songwriter

27 February 1912
Author, Poet, Lyricist, Songwriter
Vyloppilli Sreedhara MenonVyloppilli Sreedhara Menon
11 May 1911
Poet, Writer

Vayalar RamavarmaVayalar Ramavarma
28 March 1928
Author, Lyricist, Songwriter
G. Sankara KurupG. Sankara Kurup
03 June 1901
Politician, Poet

Veturi Sundararama MurthyVeturi Sundararama Murthy
29 January 1936
Poet, Songwriter, Lyricist

Balamani AmmaBalamani Amma
19 July 1909

30 June 1911
Poet, Writer
Kavi PradeepKavi Pradeep
06 February 1915
Poet, Singer, Lyricist, Songwriter
Bihari LalBihari Lal
1595 AD

Dharamvir BharatiDharamvir Bharati
25 December 1926
Poet, Journalist, Author, Writer

31 August 1925
Poet, Songwriter, Writer, Historian, Author,

Chand BardaiChand Bardai
30 September 1149
K. S. NarasimhaswamyK. S. Narasimhaswamy
26 January 1915

Gopalakrishna AdigaGopalakrishna Adiga
1918 AD

P. Kunhiraman NairP. Kunhiraman Nair
04 October 1905

1365 AD
writer, poet

Akkitham Achuthan NamboothiriAkkitham Achuthan Namboothiri
18 March 1926
Goreti VenkannaGoreti Venkanna
1963 AD
author, songwriter

Adela Florence NicolsonAdela Florence Nicolson
09 April 1865
Poet, Author, Writer

Sri SriSri Sri
30 April 1910
author, poet, lyricist, songwriter

Harivanshrai BachchanHarivanshrai Bachchan
27 November 1907
Balachandran ChullikaduBalachandran Chullikadu
30 July 1957

Writer, dramatist