French politics has evolved over the course of time and the geographical and socio-economic characteristics of the nation have played an important part in it. Politics in the country has always been an embodiment of their heritage, ideology and culture; reflecting in the distinctive combination of parliamentary and presidential systems. France has produced some of the famous political leaders, be it in the past or in current times. Their politics is a perfect example of the oxymoron: ‘constantly changing’—globalization and the various political institutions playing a significant role in the changes that take place. Famous French political leaders like Maximilien Robespierre, Jean Monnet and others, exhibited strong nationalist emotions and intellectuality along with determination to safeguard the French culture. These leaders are remembered to this day for either the causes they have fought for or the idiosyncrasies or governing methods they have adopted and also for the changes they have successfully brought about. Whatever the reason may be, these famous leaders have dramatically molded the way French politics has worked all along. We present to you an extensive collection of biographies of some of the most famous French political leaders. Read on to know more about their life stories, timelines and some interesting facts & trivia related to them.

Emmanuel MacronEmmanuel Macron
21 December 1977
Oswald MosleyOswald Mosley
16 November 1896
British Politician

Nicolas SarkozyNicolas Sarkozy
28 January 1955

Cardinal RichelieuCardinal Richelieu
09 September 1585
French Clergyman, Noble and Statesman

François HollandeFrançois Hollande
12 August 1954
President of France

Marine Le PenMarine Le Pen
05 August 1968
Political Leader
François MitterrandFrançois Mitterrand
26 October 1916
Former President of France

Jacques ChiracJacques Chirac
29 November 1932
Former President of France

Napoleon BonaparteNapoleon Bonaparte
15 August 1769
Emperor of the French
Pierre-Joseph ProudhonPierre-Joseph Proudhon
15 January 1809

Georges PompidouGeorges Pompidou
05 July 1911
Former Prime Minister & President of France

Léon BlumLéon Blum
09 April 1872
Former Prime Minister of France

Ségolène RoyalSégolène Royal
22 September 1953
Minister of Ecology, Sustainable Development and

Vincent AuriolVincent Auriol
27 August 1884
Former President of France

Dominique de VillepinDominique de Villepin
14 November 1953
Former Prime Minister of France
Aristide BriandAristide Briand
28 March 1862
Prime Minister

Michel Jean-Pierre DebreMichel Debré
15 January 1912
149th Prime Minister of France

Georges BidaultGeorges Bidault
05 October 1899
French Politician

Maximilien de RobespierreMaximilien de Robespierre
06 May 1758
Influential Figure of the French Revolution
Alexandre Auguste Ledru-RollinAlexandre Auguste Ledru-Rollin
02 February 1807
French Politician

Raymond Octave Joseph BarreRaymond Barre
12 April 1924
Former Prime Minister of France
Léon BourgeoisLéon Bourgeois
21 May 1851
French Statesman

Son SannSon Sann
05 October 1911

Marion Maréchal-Le PenMarion Maréchal-Le Pen
10 December 1989
Georges ClemenceauGeorges Clémenceau
28 September 1841
Former French Prime Minister

Philip V of SpainPhilip V of Spain
Christine LagardeChristine Lagarde
01 January 1956
Economist, Lawyer, Diplomat, Politician,

Pierre LavalPierre Laval
28 June 1883
Politician, Lawyer

Valéry Giscard d'EstaingValéry Giscard d'Estaing
02 February 1926
Former President of the French Republic
Ned LamontNed Lamont
03 January 1954

Continue Reading Below
Anne HidalgoAnne Hidalgo
19 June 1959
Dominique Strauss-KahnDominique Strauss-Kahn
25 April 1949
Economist, Politician, Lawyer, University teacher

Jean-Marie Le PenJean-Marie Le Pen
20 June 1928
Politician, Trade unionist

James GoldsmithJames Goldsmith
26 February 1933

Jean-Baptiste ColbertJean-Baptiste Colbert
29 August 1619
Economist, Politician
François FillonFrançois Fillon
04 March 1954
Politician, Lawyer, Legislative assistant
0222 AD

Francis, Duke of AnjouFrancis, Duke of Anjou
18 March 1555

Félix FaureFélix Faure
30 January 1841

Louis Philippe II, Duke of OrléansLouis Philippe II, Duke of Orléans
13 April 1747
Louis VI of FranceLouis VI of France
01 December 1081

Saad HaririSaad Hariri
18 April 1970

Louis Antoine de Saint-JustLouis Antoine de Saint-Just
25 August 1767
Politician, Writer

Najat Vallaud-BelkacemNajat Vallaud-Belkacem
04 October 1977

Carlo BuonaparteCarlo Buonaparte
27 March 1746
John I of FranceJohn I of France
15 November 1316

Joseph de MaistreJoseph de Maistre
01 April 1753
Jérôme BonaparteJérôme Bonaparte
15 November 1784

Robert SchumanRobert Schuman
29 June 1886

Anne of BrittanyAnne of Brittany
25 January 1477
Eduard LimonovEduard Limonov
22 February 1943
Writer, Dissident, Politician, Poet, Human rights

Simone VeilSimone Veil
13 July 1927
Politician, Judge
Henry I of FranceHenry I of France
04 May 1008

Íngrid BetancourtÍngrid Betancourt
25 December 1961

Paul ReynaudPaul Reynaud
15 October 1878
Politician, Lawyer, Journalist

Honoré Gabriel Riqueti, comte de MirabeauHonoré Gabriel Riqueti, comte de Mirabeau
09 March 1749
Journalist, Politician, Diplomat, Writer,

François-René de ChateaubriandFrançois-René de Chateaubriand
04 September 1768
Édouard DaladierÉdouard Daladier
18 June 1884

Raymond PoincaréRaymond Poincaré
20 August 1860
Politician, Lawyer, Journalist

Ludwig I of BavariaLudwig I of Bavaria
25 August 1786

Henry VII, Holy Roman EmperorHenry VII, Holy Roman Emperor
1275 AD
Adolphe ThiersAdolphe Thiers
15 April 1797

Joseph FouchéJoseph Fouché
21 May 1759
James I of AragonJames I of Aragon
02 February 1208

Jean JaurèsJean Jaurès
03 September 1859
Political leader

Rachida DatiRachida Dati
27 November 1965
Charles MaurrasCharles Maurras
20 April 1868

Bernard TapieBernard Tapie
26 January 1943
Politician, Actor, Businessperson
Manuel VallsManuel Valls
13 August 1962

0380 AD

Jean Maximilien LamarqueJean Maximilien Lamarque
22 July 1770
Politician, Officer, Military personnel
Albert LebrunAlbert Lebrun
29 August 1871

Daniel Cohn-BenditDaniel Cohn-Bendit
04 April 1945
Politician, Journalist, Television presenter,
Philippe de GaullePhilippe de Gaulle
28 December 1921
Politician, Military personnel

Louis V of FranceLouis V of France
0967 AD

Charles III, Duke of LorraineCharles III, Duke of Lorraine
18 February 1543
Duke of Lorraine

Nicolas FouquetNicolas Fouquet
27 January 1615
Paul LafarguePaul Lafargue
15 June 1842
journalist, politician, economist, essayist
Jean-Yves Le DrianJean-Yves Le Drian
30 June 1947
Politician, Historian

René CotyRené Coty
20 March 1882
Politician, Lawyer

Charles Ferdinand, Duke of BerryCharles Ferdinand, Duke of Berry
24 January 1778

Joseph DarnandJoseph Darnand
19 March 1897
Jacques DelorsJacques Delors
20 July 1925
Economist, Politician, Banker, Trade unionist

Louis III of FranceLouis III of France
0860 AD

Marie François Sadi CarnotMarie François Sadi Carnot
11 August 1837
Politician, Civil engineer, Engineer

Henry I, Duke of GuiseHenry I, Duke of Guise
31 December 1550

Yvonne de GaulleYvonne de Gaulle
22 May 1900
Louis AliotLouis Aliot
04 September 1969
Politician, Lawyer

Lothair of FranceLothair of France
0941 AD
Alexandre de BeauharnaisAlexandre de Beauharnais
28 May 1760
Political figure

Lucien BouchardLucien Bouchard
22 December 1938
Lionel JospinLionel Jospin
12 July 1937
Politician, University teacher
Seán MacBrideSeán MacBride
26 January 1904
diplomat, politician, lawyer, journalist