Scott Cawthon Bio

(Game Designer, Animator)

Birthday: July 26, 1971 (Leo)

Born In: U.S.

Scott Cawthon is an American video game designer, developer and animator best known for the 'Five Nights at Freddy's franchise'. If you are a video games enthusiast then you would have probably landed upon playing one of the games of the ‘Five Nights at Freddy's’ indie video game series. The series and eventually the media franchise often abbreviated as ‘FNaF’ was created, developed, designed and published by Scott Cawthon.

The game designer and animator, however, met with little success initially. He was even criticized by notable reviewers for incorporating animatronic machine like characters in his games like ‘Chipper and Sons Lumber Co.’ Although such criticisms marred his spirits initially, Cawthon later resolved to use such characters in his future gaming endeavours. This saw the evolvement of ‘Five Nights at Freddy's’, the first game of the successful franchise marking his big break into the world of gaming. Its success and popularity not only saw development of five more games in the series but also the novel ‘Five Nights at Freddy's: The Silver Eyes’.

Upcoming books associated with the franchise includes another novel ‘Five Nights at Freddy's: The Twisted Ones’ and an official guidebook to the series titled ‘The Freddy Files’. The series is also planned for a film adaptation. Other notable games and animations of Cawthon, who also remained associated with ‘Hope Animation’ that delves in developing animated films aimed at disseminating the teachings of Lord Jesus, are ‘There Is No Pause Button!’, The Desolate Hope and ‘The Pilgrim's Progress’ to mention a few.
Quick Facts

Age: 52 Years, 52 Year Old Males

City: Houston, Texas

U.S. State: Texas

Although the exact time as to when Scott Cawthon embarked on a career as animator and game designer is not clearly known, the period is presumed to be sometime in the 1990s.
Recommended Lists:

Recommended Lists:

Some of his early games include ‘Bogart’ (2003), ‘Lost Island’ (2003), ‘Legacy of Flan’ (2003), ‘Legend of White Whale’ (2005) and ‘Weird Colony’ (2006) among others which however couldn’t garner much success.
Cawthon, a Christian by faith remained associated with ‘Hope Animation’, an organisation that develops computer games and animations spreading the teachings of Jesus Christ. One of his first notable video games, ‘The Pilgrim's Progress’ based on the Christian novel bearing same name by John Bunyan was released by ‘Hope Animation’. A game play footage of this game was uploaded by him on his YouTube channel on March 19, 2007.
With time he came up with several other games, some notable ones being ‘The Desolate Hope’ (2012), ‘Chipper and Sons Lumber Co.’ (2013), ‘Sit 'N Survive’ (2014), and ‘There Is No Pause Button!’ (2014). However, he met with severe criticism from notable reviewers for including characters in his games that communicate and move like animatronic machines, particularly in games like Chipper and Sons Lumber Co.’ Initially, Cawthon was dampened by such criticism so much so that he even contemplated giving up game development, but he later made up his mind to use such characters in his next creations that formed seed to the development of his most successful series ‘Five Nights at Freddy's’.
His success story as a game developer started in 2014 with the development of the point-and-click survival mystery horror video game titled ‘‘Five Nights at Freddy's’ which included haunted animatronic characters. The game garnered popularity after Cawthon submitted it to ‘IndieDB’ on July 24, 2014. It was then released on ‘Desura’ on August 8, 2014 and became the top-selling game for the week ending August 18, 2014 on the digital distribution platform. Thereafter, it was released through ‘Steam’ on August 20, 2014. Its eventual success saw it becoming subject of several popular ‘Let’s Play’ videos on YouTube while mobile ports for Android and iOS were also released on August 27 and September 11 that year respectively.
Such massive success and positive reviews from critics encouraged Cawthon to come up with four sequels of the game namely ‘Five Nights at Freddy's 2’ released on November 10, 2014 on Microsoft Windows, on November 13, 2014 on Android and on November 20, 2014 on iOS; ‘Five Nights at Freddy's 3’ released on March 2, 2015, on Microsoft Windows, on March 7, 2015, on Android and on March 12, 2015 on iOS; ‘Five Nights at Freddy's 4’ released on July 23, 2015 on Microsoft Windows, on July 25, 2015, on Android and on August 3, 2015 on iOS; and the last one ‘Five Nights at Freddy's: Sister Location’ released on October 7, 2016, on Microsoft Windows, on December 22, 2016, on Android and on January 3, 2017 on iOS.
An official spin-off of the series ‘FNaF World’ was released on January 21, 2016 for Microsoft Windows.
Meanwhile, in 2015, he came out with a novel adaptation of the series titled ‘Five Nights at Freddy's: The Silver Eyes’ along with Kira Breed-Wrisley. Two more books, a novel ‘Five Nights at Freddy's: The Twisted Ones’ and an official guidebook ‘The Freddy Files’ are slated for a 2017 release.
Cawthon has also made a number of independent films over the years such as ‘Noah's Ark: Story of The Biblical Flood’ (2005), ‘The Pilgrim's Progress’ (2005), ‘A Christmas Journey’ (2006) and ‘The Jesus Kids' Club’ (2010) (series).
Continue Reading Below
Personal Life
Scott Cawthon was born on July 26, 1971, in the US. He is a graduate from ‘The Art Institute of Houston’. Presently he resides with his wife and three children in Salado, Texas, US.

Follow Scott Cawthon On:

Scott Cawthon Fans Also Viewed

Markiplier Biography
Keemstar Biography
Tyler Blevins Biography
Tyler Blevins
Dr. DisRespect Biography
Dr. DisRespect
Loltyler1 Biography
James Rolfe Biography
James Rolfe
Chuggaaconroy Biography
Freddie Wong Biography
Freddie Wong