Neil Gaiman Biography

Neil Gaiman is an English writer of novels, short stories, children’s books and other literature. This biography provides detailed information about his childhood, life, achievements, works & timeline.

Quick Facts

Birthday: November 10, 1960

Nationality: British

Famous: Scientologists Novelists

Age: 59 Years, 59 Year Old Males

Sun Sign: Scorpio

Also Known As: Neil Richard MacKinnon Gaiman

Born in: Portchester, Hampshire, England

Famous as: Author

Height: 5'11" (180 cm), 5'11" Males

Subscribe to Riddle Puddle


Spouse/Ex-: Amanda Palmer (m. 2011)

father: David Bernard Gaiman

mother: Sheila Gaiman (née Goldman)

siblings: Claire, Lizzy

More Facts

education: Fonthill School in East Grinstead, Ardingly College (1970–74), Whitgift School in Croydon (1974–77)

awards: 1991 - Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel
1999 - Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature
2000 - Bram Stoker Award for Best Illustrated Narrative

2001 - Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel
2002 - Hugo Award for Best Novel
2002 - Nebula Award for Best Novel
2002 - Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel
2003 - Hugo Award for Best Novella
2003 - Nebula Award for Best Novella
2003 - Locus Award for Best Young Adult Book
2003 - Bram Stoker Award for Best Work
2003 - British Science Fiction Association Award for short fiction
2004 - Bram Stoker Award for Best Illustrated Narrative
2005 - The William Shatner Golden Groundhog Award for Best Underground Movie
2005 - Quill Book Award for Graphic Novels
2006 - Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature
2006 - British Fantasy Award for Best Novel
2006 - Locus Award
fantasy novel
2006 - Locus Award
short story
2007 - Locus Award
short story
2007 - Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award
2007 - British Fantasy Award
2009 - Hugo Award for Best Novel
2011 - Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
2012 - Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

Continue Reading Below

Subscribe to Riddle Puddle

Neil Gaiman is an English writer of novels, short stories, children’s books and other literature. He is one of the most prolific authors of our generation. His fascination with writing began in his early years, when he used to read fantasy novels set in a far away dreamland. He was a keen observer and grew up to be an exemplary artist of literature who used his imagination for creating marvelous stories. His fantasy world captivates the reader and makes him a part of its journey in a spellbinding manner. Apart from writing novels and short stories, he has also contributed significantly to graphic novels, television, movies and radio plays. He is a genuine master of story-telling with a powerful grip over the mind of the reader and at the same time allowing it to roam around freely to an imaginative dreamland where anything and everything is possible. His stories have been honored with many awards around the world which proves the fact that he is a genius in his work. He has earned the respect and love of people all around the world with his literary masterpieces and continues to create such magnificent tales for future generations who will surely appreciate them for its intellectual richness and inherent beauty.

Recommended Lists:

Recommended Lists:

Childhood & Early Life
  • In the early 1980s he became a journalist and started conducting interviews and writing book reviews extensively for British Fantasy Society. His first professional short story, ’Featherquest’, was published in 1984.
  • In 1984, he wrote a book of quotations with Kim Newman, ‘Ghastly Beyond Belief’, which proved to be quite successful. He ended his career as a journalist in 1987.
  • In 1987, he started his career in writing comic books and collaborated with his friend Dave McKean for his graphic novels such as ‘Violent Cases’, ‘Signal to Noise’ and ‘The Tragical Comedy or Comical Tragedy of Mr. Punch’.
  • Impressed by his work, DC Comics hired him to write a three-part series called ‘Black Orchid’ which was appreciated by its fans. His next big venture included another comic character ‘Sandman’ and proved to be an immediate hit.
  • His first novel ‘Good Omens’ was published in collaboration with Terry Pratchett in 1990. He also published novels such as ‘Neverwhere’ and ‘Stardust’ in the 1990s and ‘American Gods’ in 2001.
  • He wrote a novella ‘Coraline’ for young adult readers in 2003 which was very well received by the audiences and another one ‘The Graveyard Book’ in 2008.
  • His o`ther famous works of novel include ‘Anansi Boys’ (2005) and ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ (2011).
  • He also wrote the screenplay for films such as ‘Mirrormask’ (2005), ‘Beowulf’ (2007) and for TV Series, ‘Babylon 5’ and ‘Doctor Who’.
    Continue Reading Below
Major Works
  • One of his finest works, acclaimed critically and commercially, was his fantasy novel ‘American Gods’ in 2001 which became the best seller upon its release and won him many awards. It depicts a struggle between the European gods of ancient origin and the newer, more arrogant American gods.
  • In 2008, he wrote another novella ‘The Graveyard Book’, which follows the adventures of a boy named Bod after his family is murdered and he is left to be brought up by the ghosts in a graveyard. It is a masterpiece and was awarded two of the most prominent medals of the literary world.
Awards & Achievements
  • In 2001, he received the ‘Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel’ for his widely acclaimed fantasy novel ‘American Gods’. For the same novel, he also won the ‘Hugo Award for Best Novel’ and ‘Nebula Award for Best Novel’ in 2002.
  • For his 2002 fantasy novel, Coraline, he was honored with several awards including the ‘Hugo Award for Best Novella’, ‘Nebula award for Best Novella’ and the ‘Bram Stoker award for Best Work for Young Readers’ in 2003.
  • He received the 2006 Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature and the 2006 British Fantasy Award for Best Novel for his novel ‘Anansi Boys’.
  • He won both the British Carnegie Medal and the American Newbery Medal for his 2008 masterpiece novel ‘The Graveyard Book’. It was the first time both the medals were awarded for the same work.
  • He received the Book of the Year award for his novel ’The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ in National Book Awards’ 2013.
Personal Life & Legacy
  • While living in East Grinstead, he met his first wife, Mary McGrath, who was studying Scientology. They had their first child, Michael, in 1983.
  • In 1985, they got married and were blessed with a girl, Holly, in the same year and another girl, Madeleine, some years later.
  • The couple grew apart from each other in the later years of their marriage and eventually got divorced in 2008 after a long separation.
  • In 2011, he married Amanda Palmer, singer and performer, after dating her for more than two years. Amanda has identified herself as a bisexual person. The couple is still married with no children.

See the events in life of Neil Gaiman in Chronological Order

How To Cite

Article Title
- Neil Gaiman Biography
- Editors,
Last Updated
- September 18, 2017
Neil Gaiman

People Also Viewed

J. K. Rowling
David Thewlis
Lucy Hawking
Alex Garland

China Miéville
Alastair Reynolds
Richard K Morgan