From the might of the Aztecs to its conquests by Spain, from the stone cities of the Maya to the bustling streets of the Mexico City, Mexico has had a rich heritage and history. Culturally vibrant and historically enriched, the country has witnessed upward accession in its more than 10000 years of existence. From being colonially ruled for more than three centuries to gaining its independence and later re-building the country’s heritage, Mexico has seen and braved it all. And much of that has been possible due to its remarkably talented and outstanding leaders who have helped the country progress even when the tides weren’t in their favour. Though the country today follows a presidential system of government, it wasn’t so always. Mexico has had several forms of government throughout history. However, under the current constitution, the President of the United Mexican States serves as the executive head of the country. His post is vested with executive powers and is responsible for the smooth functioning of the country, politically, socially and economically. Briefly go through this section and find out in details about the life and works of famous Mexican leaders.
Andrés Manuel López ObradorAndrés Manuel López Obrador
13 November 1953
Pancho VillaPancho Villa
05 June 1878

Emiliano ZapataEmiliano Zapata
08 August 1879
Mexican Political figure

Enrique Peña NietoEnrique Peña Nieto
20 July 1966
President of Mexico

Porfirio DíazPorfirio Díaz
15 September 1830
Military General, Politician

Carlos Salinas de GortariCarlos Salinas de Gortari
03 April 1948
Agustín de IturbideAgustín de Iturbide
27 September 1783
Emperor of Mexico

Miguel Hidalgo y CostillaMiguel Hidalgo y Costilla
08 May 1753

Álvaro ObregónÁlvaro Obregón
19 February 1880
Lázaro CárdenasLázaro Cárdenas
21 May 1895
President of Mexico

Luis Donaldo ColosioLuis Donaldo Colosio
10 February 1950
Venustiano CarranzaVenustiano Carranza
29 December 1859

Vicente GuerreroVicente Guerrero
10 August 1782

Victoriano HuertaVictoriano Huerta
22 March 1850
Former President of Mexico

Manuel GonzalezManuel González Flores
18 June 1833
31st President of Mexico

Benito JuarezBenito Juarez
21 March 1806
Mexican lawyer
Antonio López de Santa AnnaAntonio López de Santa Anna
21 February 1794
Politician, Officer, Military personnel

Stephen AustinStephen Austin
03 November 1793

Vicente FoxVicente Fox
02 July 1942
Politician, Economist

Felipe CalderónFelipe Calderón
18 August 1962
Former President of Mexico
Juan DiegoJuan Diego
1474 AD

Subcomandante MarcosSubcomandante Marcos
19 June 1957
Joaquin MurrietaJoaquin Murrieta
1829 AD

Francisco I. MaderoFrancisco I. Madero
30 October 1873
Politician, Writer, Musician, Military personnel

Don Miguel RuizDon Miguel Ruiz
26 August 1952
Ernesto ZedilloErnesto Zedillo
27 December 1951
Economist, University teacher, Author

Plutarco Elías CallesPlutarco Elías Calles
25 September 1877
Politician, Officer, Military personnel
Marcial MacielMarcial Maciel
10 March 1920

Miguel de la MadridMiguel de la Madrid
12 December 1934
Politician, Lawyer

José López PortilloJosé López Portillo
16 June 1920
Politician, Lawyer, University teacher
Gustavo Díaz OrdazGustavo Díaz Ordaz
12 March 1911

Continue Reading Below
Lupita JonesLupita Jones
06 September 1968
Model, Actor, Beauty pageant contestant
Cuauhtémoc CárdenasCuauhtémoc Cárdenas
01 May 1934

Guadalupe VictoriaGuadalupe Victoria
29 September 1786
Politician, Military personnel, Lawyer

Miguel AlemánMiguel Alemán
29 September 1900

Adolfo Lopez MateosAdolfo Lopez Mateos
26 May 1910
José VasconcelosJosé Vasconcelos
28 February 1882
Writer, Philosopher, Politician, University
Ricardo Flores MagónRicardo Flores Magón
16 September 1873
Political figure

Adolfo de la HuertaAdolfo de la Huerta
26 May 1881

María Asunción AramburuzabalaMaría Asunción Aramburuzabala
02 May 1963

Emilio Portes GilEmilio Portes Gil
03 October 1890
President of Mexico
Joel Molina RamirezJoel Molina Ramirez
01 November 1942

Pascual OrozcoPascual Orozco
28 January 1882

Sebastián Lerdo de TejadaSebastián Lerdo de Tejada
24 April 1823
President of Mexico

Miguel Ángel Osorio ChongMiguel Ángel Osorio Chong
05 August 1964
Politician, Lawyer

Miguel MiramónMiguel Miramón
29 September 1832
Nicolás BravoNicolás Bravo
10 September 1786

Juan ÁlvarezJuan Álvarez
27 January 1790
Military General
Valentín Gómez FaríasValentín Gómez Farías
14 February 1781

Victor Valencia de los SantosVictor Valencia de los Santos
06 April 1959

Carlos Hank GonzálezCarlos Hank González
28 August 1927
Isidro Pedraza ChavezIsidro Pedraza Chavez
15 May 1959

Lucas AlamánLucas Alamán
18 October 1792
Eufemio ZapataEufemio Zapata
1873 AD

Juan de Dios Castro LozanoJuan de Dios Castro Lozano
25 March 1942

Jaime Torres BodetJaime Torres Bodet
17 April 1902

Manuel Gutiérrez NájeraManuel Gutiérrez Nájera
22 December 1859

Fidel Velázquez SánchezFidel Velázquez Sánchez
12 May 1900
Political Leader
Agustín YáñezAgustín Yáñez
04 May 1904

Adolfo Aguilar ZinserAdolfo Aguilar Zinser
02 December 1949

Miguel Acundo GonzalezMiguel Acundo Gonzalez
29 September 1961

Felipe NeriFelipe Neri
23 August 1884
Marlene Catzin CihMarlene Catzin Cih
1954 AD