Lithuania is a country situated in northern Europe. Marked by Latvia, Poland, Belarus and Kaliningrad Oblast on its sides, the country is one of the three of the Baltic States. Dating back to the 13th century, Lithuania was ruled by the Minduagas who was the first King of Lithuania of the unified state. During the mid-20th century, Lithuania was occupied by the Soviet Union and later by the Nazi Germany. during the last years of World War II, Lithuania yet again came under the rule of Soviet Union. In 1990, when the Soviet Union was finally dissolved, Lithuania declared itself independent thus becoming the first Soviet Republic to do so. Independent Lithuania follows a democratic tradition, wherein the President acts as the head of state. His position however is largely ceremonial and much of the powers lie with the Prime Minister who is the executive head of the government. Algirdas Mykolas Brazauskas served as the first President of a newly independent post-Soviet Lithuania from 1993 to 1998 and Prime Minister from 2001 to 2006. Current and incumbent President Dalia Grybauskaite became the first female to be appointed as the President of Lithuania. In 2014, she was re-elected thus becoming the first President of modern Lithuania to serve yet another term consecutively. Read on to get detailed information about Lithuania Presidents, their life and their works.
Dalia GrybauskaitėDalia Grybauskaitė
01 March 1956
President of Lithuania
Antanas SmetonaAntanas Smetona
10 August 1874
Former President of Lithuania

Valdas AdamkusValdas Adamkus
03 November 1926
Former President of Lithuania

Algirdas BrazauskasAlgirdas Brazauskas
22 September 1932
Yachting and Hunting

Rolandas PaksasRolandas Paksas
10 June 1956
Former President of Lithuania

Jonas ŽemaitisJonas Žemaitis
15 March 1909
Former President of Lithuania
Justas PaleckisJustas Paleckis
22 January 1899

Kazys GriniusKazys Grinius
17 December 1866