Famous People From India

India’s contribution to the field of literature has been appreciated since time immemorial. From the classics of Rabindranath Tagore and Satyajit Ray, to the children stories of Ruskin Bond, the works of these eminent novelists have changed the perception of the world towards India. Unlike the age old adage of India being the ‘land of snake charmers’, these famous novelists have painted the real picture of the country, for the outside world to admire and acknowledge through their works. These novelists have created works on different literary genres and the modern day writers like Amish Tripathy, Devdutt Pattanaik, Kiran Desai and Manreet Sodhi Someshwar are not willing to be confined to the conventional themes of the past. These writers are raring to have a go at the unexplored literary genres and their efforts are duly recognized by the audiences globally. These Indian novelists have created a niche for themselves among the elite writers around the world. Here we have made an effort to present a collection of biographies on some of the famous Indian novelists. Explore through the collection to find all about their life stories, timelines and gear yourselves with some interesting trivia and facts related to them.

Rabindranath TagoreRabindranath Tagore
07 May 1861
Salman RushdieSalman Rushdie
19 June 1947
British-Indian novelist

Chetan BhagatChetan Bhagat
22 April 1974

Munshi PremchandMunshi Premchand
31 July 1880
Novelist and Author

Vinayak Damodar SavarkarVinayak Damodar Savarkar
28 May 1883
Independence Activist, Reformer

Vikram SethVikram Seth
20 June 1952
Khushwant SinghKhushwant Singh
02 February 1915
Novelist, Lawyer, Journalist & Politician

Kazi Nazrul IslamKazi Nazrul Islam
24 May 1899
National Poet of Bangladesh

29 December 1904
Amrita PritamAmrita Pritam
31 August 1919

Mulk Raj AnandMulk Raj Anand
12 December 1905
Sarat Chandra ChattopadhyaySarat Chandra Chattopadhyay
15 September 1876

R. K. NarayanR. K. Narayan
10 October 1906

Nabaneeta Dev SenNabaneeta Dev Sen
13 January 1938

27 February 1912

Nirad C. ChaudhuriNirad C. Chaudhuri
23 November 1897
Indian writer

Shashi TharoorShashi Tharoor
09 March 1956
Writer, Politician, Diplomat

Arundhati RoyArundhati Roy
24 November 1961
Novelist, Writer, Screenwriter, Essayist

31 July 1880
Novelist, Screenwriter, Writer
Aravind AdigaAravind Adiga
23 October 1974
Writer, Journalist, Novelist, Film director

Amitav GhoshAmitav Ghosh
11 July 1956
Writer, Novelist, Journalist
Sagarika GhoseSagarika Ghose
08 November 1964
Author, Journalist

22 March 1945

Vaikom Muhammad BasheerVaikom Muhammad Basheer
21 January 1908
Novelist, Screenwriter, Essayist, Writer, Diarist,
Anita DesaiAnita Desai
24 June 1937

Raja RaoRaja Rao
08 November 1908
Author, Writer
Sujatha RangarajanSujatha Rangarajan
03 May 1935
Writer, Screenwriter

Devdutt PattanaikDevdutt Pattanaik
11 December 1970

Mahasweta DeviMahasweta Devi
14 January 1926
Human rights activist, Writer, Poet, Novelist,
Bibhutibhushan BandyopadhyayBibhutibhushan Bandyopadhyay
12 September 1894
Poet, Writer

Continue Reading Below
Kalki KrishnamurthyKalki Krishnamurthy
09 September 1899
Screenwriter, Journalist, Writer
Sudha MurtySudha Murty
19 August 1950

Pankaj MishraPankaj Mishra
1969 AD
author, journalist, literary critic, writer

Nayantara SahgalNayantara Sahgal
10 May 1927
Journalist, Writer

Ashfaq AhmedAshfaq Ahmed
22 August 1925
Philosopher, Literary critic
Na. MuthukumarNa. Muthukumar
12 July 1975
Kiran DesaiKiran Desai
03 September 1971
Novelist, Writer

Bharatendu HarishchandraBharatendu Harishchandra
09 September 1850

S. K. PottekkattS. K. Pottekkatt
13 March 1913
author, politician, diarist, poet

Poornachandra TejaswiPoornachandra Tejaswi
08 September 1938
Author, Lyricist, Songwriter
Thakazhi Sivasankara PillaiThakazhi Sivasankara Pillai
17 April 1912

Shashi DeshpandeShashi Deshpande
1938 AD
writer, novelist, journalist, short story writer,

Nirmal VermaNirmal Verma
03 April 1929
Linguist, Translator, Writer, Literary critic

Yandamuri VeerendranathYandamuri Veerendranath
14 November 1948
Novelist, Writer

Chandrashekhara KambaraChandrashekhara Kambara
02 January 1937
Film director, Poet, Writer
Balakumaran VBalakumaran
05 July 1946

O.V. VijayanO.V. Vijayan
02 July 1930
Anita NairAnita Nair
26 January 1966
Writer, Screenwriter, Essayist, Children's writer

Ahmed AliAhmed Ali
01 July 1910

Qurratulain HyderQurratulain Hyder
20 January 1927
K. M. PanikkarK. M. Panikkar
03 June 1895

Dom MoraesDom Moraes
19 July 1938
Bharati MukherjeeBharati Mukherjee
27 July 1940

Anant PaiAnant Pai
17 September 1929

Ashok BankerAshok Banker
07 February 1964
Author, Journalist, Literary critic

Kamala MarkandayaKamala Markandaya
01 January 1924

Santha Rama RauSantha Rama Rau
24 January 1923
Amit ChaudhuriAmit Chaudhuri
1962 AD
professor, writer