Ghana is a subregion of West Africa, located along the Gulf of Guinea and Atlantic Ocean. Today, a sovereign unitary presidential constitutional democracy, it was ruled by Queen Elizabeth II, the monarch of the United Kingdom, who took up the Governor General post, serving the same from 1957 until 1960. Thereafter, Ghana was ruled under Sir Charles Arden Clarke and the Earl of Listowel both of whom took up the post of the Governor General consecutively until 1960. In 1960, the constitution of the Republic of Ghana was first established. However, it was marred by alternating military occupancy until the establishment of the current and fourth Republic since 1993. Under the current constitution of Ghana, the President of Ghana serves as both the head of the state and government. He takes up the position for a four-year term which expires at the next general election. Since 1993, four political leaders have taken up the post of the President of Ghana starting from Jerry Rawlings, John Kufuor, John Atta Mills and the current President John Dramani Mahama. Browse through this section and find out more about famous Ghanaian leaders.
Kofi AnnanKofi Annan

08 April 1938

Kwame NkrumahKwame Nkrumah

21 September 1909

Peter TurksonPeter Turkson

11 October 1948

John Dramani MahamaJohn Dramani Mahama

29 November 1958

Akua DansuaAkua Dansua

23 April 1958

Nana Akufo-AddoNana Akufo-Addo

09 March 1944

Jerry RawlingsJerry Rawlings

22 June 1947

John Atta MillsJohn Atta Mills

21 July 1944

John KufuorJohn Kufuor

08 December 1938

Edward Akufo-AddoEdward Akufo-Addo

26 June 1906

Sally HayfronSally Hayfron

06 June 1931

John Atta-MillsJohn Atta-Mills

21 July 1944