YBN Cordae Biography

YBN Cordae is a hip hop artist from America known for his mixtape ‘Anxiety.’ Check out this biography to know about his childhood, family life, achievements and fun facts about him.

Quick Facts

Nick Name: Entendre

Birthday: August 26, 1997 Black Celebrities Born on August 26

Nationality: American

Famous: Rappers Black Singers

Age: 22 Years, 22 Year Old Males

Sun Sign: Virgo

Also Known As: Cordae Dunston

Born in: Raleigh, North Carolina

Famous as: Rapper, songwriter

U.S. State: North Carolina, African-American From North Carolina

City: Raleigh, North Carolina

Continue Reading Below

Cordae Dunston is a hip hop artist from America. He is more popular by his professional names, YBN Cordae or Entendre. A native of North Carolina, Cordae grew up in Maryland. His initial interest in music developed because of his father, who listened to the contemporary rappers. After he turned 15, he started composing his own music but initially, it was simply a hobby for him. That changed as time went on and he became well-versed in the history of hip hop. He was still a teenager when he released three mixtapes under the pseudonym Entendre. In the ensuing years, he graduated from high school, enrolled in a college, and later dropped out because it felt “too big” for him. He ended up moving to Los Angeles, where he started taking hip hop seriously for the first time. In 2018, he became a member of Young Boss Niggas collective and changed his stage name to YBN Cordae. He subsequently garnered fame for putting out remixes of popular songs, such as ‘My Name Is’ by Eminem and ‘1985’ by J. Cole. Cordae became an internet sensation for his interview with L.A. Leakers, during which he demonstrated his skills by freestyling over various beats.

Recommended Lists:

Recommended Lists:

Childhood & Early Life
  • As Cordae got older, a desire to pursue a career in the music industry started to solidify within him. During this period, as he was still in school, his education also required his attention. The time he spent writing lyrics would often drastically shorten the time he had for his studies.
  • Using the professional name Entendre, he released the mixtape ‘Anxiety’ in 2014. At the time, he was affiliated with the independent music label N.A.G.E. He had previously worked on a couple of singles and videos but ‘Anxiety’ was his first mixtape. It is comprised of 13 tracks, including ‘Life’, ‘Genesis’, ‘Questions’, ‘Explanations’, ‘Adrenaline’, ‘Down and Out’, ‘Text Back’, ‘Sucker for Love’, ‘Wonders’, and ‘Not Good Enough’.
  • In 2016, he put out his second mixtape, ‘I’m So Anxious’. Also featuring the likes of WillThaRapper, Jon Bartley, and Zoe Stream, the sophomore mixtape was bigger than the previous one and contained 17 tracks, including ‘Pressure’, ‘Gone’, ‘Make It Easy’, ‘About Me’, ‘Dying’, ‘Never’, ‘Can’t Take It’, ‘All I Ask’, ‘3 A.M. Thoughts’, ‘Hideaway’, ‘Break Up’, ‘Can’t Breath’, I Feel Good’, ‘2 Worlds’, and ‘The Jungle’.
  • His third mixtape, ‘I’m So Anonymous’, was released on August 9, 2017 and is comprised of 15 tracks: ‘Long Nights’, ‘All That Glitters’, ‘Bestfriend’, ‘Rock Bottom’, ‘Running Away’, ‘Come Thru’,’Price Tags’, ‘Rap Politicians’, ‘Tough Decisions’, ‘Nervous’, ‘Identity Crisis’, ‘Outro’, ‘Story’, Like Woah’, and ‘2 Worlds pt. 2’.
  • After graduating from high school in 2015, Cordae had started attending Towson University in Maryland. However, he eventually dropped out in 2018, stating that the college felt “bigger than him”. He was a first generation student and had enrolled there to make his mother happy. Afterwards, he left Maryland for Los Angeles, California.
  • By early 2018, his interest in building a career as a hip hop artist had increased exponentially. Los Angeles always has had a thriving hip hop culture and it did not take Cordae long to immerse himself into it. While, at the time, he was not putting out any new music, he started associating with YBN Nahmir and YBN Almighty, whom he originally became acquainted with on Xbox Live.
  • He regarded Nahmir and Almighty as his brothers and was already part of the group in all but name. According to Cordae, the only thing that prevented Nahmir and Almighty from making him an official member of YBN was the fact that his social media handles were still in the name of Entendre. Thus, he changed his stage name to YBN Cordae.
  • As YBN Cordae, he put out the track ‘Introduction to the World’, a remix of Eminem’s 1999 song ‘My Name Is’, in May 2018 through WorldStarHipHop. Later, he put out ‘Old Niggas’, a response track to J. Cole’s ‘1985’.
  • He also released two other singles, ‘Fighting Temptations’ and ‘Kung Fu’ in 2018. In June, during an interview with the musical group L.A. Leakers, he performed freestyles over beats like Kendrick Lamar's ‘DUCKWORTH’, Lil Pump's ‘Esskeetit’, and Method Man & Redman's ‘Da Rockwilder’. The video of the performance went viral, effectively introducing Cordae to a wider audience.
  • He appeared at the Rolling Loud music festival and performed alongside Nahmir and Almighty. This was reportedly his first stage performance. They also made an appearance at the 2018 XXL Freshman Show in New York where Nahmir was inducted into the yearly freshman class.
  • Cordae is set to be a part of Juice Wrld’s North American WRLD Domination tour. The tour is set to reach 28 different cities. The roster of the tour also includes Lil Mosey and Blake. As a member of YBN, he is also set for an upcoming European tour.
Recommended Lists:

Recommended Lists:

Major Works
  • On August 2, 2018, two of the three members of YBN, Cordae and Nahmir, put out the music video for their single ‘Pain Away’. YBN’s first collaborative mixtape, ‘YBN: The Mixtape’, was released on September 7, 2018. It is comprised of 23 tracks, including ‘Intro’, ‘Alaska’, ‘Kung Fu’, and ‘Pain Away’.
Social Impact
  • Cordae’s social consciousness has a significant effect on his music. In his songs, he is very vocal on various issues plaguing the black community these days. In 2016, he took part in a Black Lives Matter protest during which he stood among the crowd and rapped about his personal struggles and the plethora of problems that the community is presently facing.
  • As a musician, Cordae has been inspired by the likes of J. Cole, Nas, Jay-Z, Kid Cudi, Kanye West, Eminem, Big L and Kendrick Lamar. He believes that he can serve as the link between what rap used to be and what it is turning into.
  • He has been hailed as a rapper “ahead of his time” and is considered to be one of those “artists who go against the grain that manage to generate conversation without being mundane or routine”.

Follow YBN Cordae On:


See the events in life of YBN Cordae in Chronological Order

How To Cite

Article Title
- YBN Cordae Biography
- Editors, TheFamousPeople.com
- TheFamousPeople.com
YBN Cordae

People Also Viewed

Roddy Ricch
Jaden Smith
YNW Melly
Trippie Redd

Lil Mosey
NLE Choppa
Lil Skies
Polo G