Taissa Farmiga Biography

Taissa Farmiga is a popular American actress. Check out this biography to know about her childhood, family life, achievements and other facts about her life.

Quick Facts

Birthday: August 17, 1994

Nationality: American

Famous: Actresses American Women

Age: 25 Years, 25 Year Old Females

Sun Sign: Leo

Born in: White House Station, Readington, New Jersey, United States

Famous as: Actress

Height: 5'4" (163 cm), 5'4" Females


father: Mykhailo Farmiga

mother: Luba Farmiga

siblings: Alexander Farmiga, Laryssa Farmiga, Nadia Farmiga, Stephan Farmiga, Vera Farmiga, Victor Farmiga

U.S. State: New Jersey

Continue Reading Below

Taissa Farmiga is an American actress known for films such as ‘Mindscape’, ‘In a Valley of Violence,’ and ‘Rules Don’t Apply.’ She is the sister of the popular Oscar nominated actress and director Vera Farmiga. As a young girl, Taissa initially had no interest in the field of acting. However, after being persuaded by her sister Vera Farmiga, she appeared in the 2011 American drama ‘Higher Ground’ which was also Vera’s directorial debut. She played the role of the teenage version of the main character. Despite having no formal training in acting, nor any previous experience, she portrayed the role well and was quite appreciated. This experience prompted Farmiga to take up acting as a full-time career. In 2011, she also made her television debut in the horror TV series ‘American Horror Story: Murder House’. Her role earned her a nomination for the ‘Online Film & Television Association Awards’ for ‘Best Ensemble in a Drama series’ along with the rest of the cast. Over the following years, she appeared in several significant films, such as Sofia Coppola’s ‘The Bling Ring’, Jorge Dorado’s psychological thriller ‘Mindscape’, Hannah Fidel’s romantic drama ‘6 Years’, and Warren Beatty’s comedy drama ‘Rules Don’t Apply’.

Recommended Lists:

Recommended Lists:

Childhood & Early Life
  • Taissa Farmiga was born on 17 August 1994 in Readington, New Jersey, in the United States. Her mother, Lubomyra, used to be a school teacher while her father, Michael Farmiga, worked as a systems analyst.
  • Her parents, who are of Ukrainian descent, have seven children in total, Taissa being the youngest one. She attended public schooling till the fourth grade, after which she was homeschooled.
  • She spent four years learning the American Sign Language. Her initial career plan was to become an accountant, but her plans changed after she achieved success in her first movie.
    Continue Reading Below
  • After being persuaded by her sister Vera, Taissa Farmiga made her film debut in the 2011 American drama ‘Higher Ground’. Directed by Vera, the film revolved around a young girl Corinne Walker, and her vacillating relationship with the Christian religion. Vera played the main character, while the younger version of the character was played by Taissa. Taissa’s role was quite appreciated, and as a result she decided to pursue acting as a full-time career. The film was also a huge success commercially and received positive reviews.
  • In 2011, she was cast in the first season of the American horror anthology television series ’American Horror Story’. ‘American Horror Story: Murder House’, the first season of the series premiered on October 5, 2011 and received mostly positive reviews. The success of the series made her an international name.
  • In 2013, she appeared in ‘The Bling Ring’ a satirical crime drama, which was written, directed and produced by Sofia Coppola. Taissa appeared in a supporting role and played the character of Sam Moore. The film premiered on 16 May 2013, at the Cannes Film Festival and was critically acclaimed.
  • She then appeared in the popular psychological thriller ‘Mindscape’ (2013), which was directed by the Spanish filmmaker Jorge Dorado. The film was about a detective who had the ability to enter people’s memories. It premiered at the 46th Sitges Film Festival on 13 October 2013.
  • In 2013, she appeared in the third season of the American horror anthology television series ‘American Horror Story: Coven’. Like the two earlier seasons, it too was a success, and received several award nominations including seventeen Emmy Award nominations.
  • Over the ensuing years, she appeared in several movies, such as ‘Jamesy Boy’ (2014), a biographical crime drama, ‘6 Years’ (2015), a romantic drama, and ‘Justice League vs. Teen Titans’ (2016), an animated superhero film.
  • In 2016, she also appeared in the sixth season of the horror anthology series ‘American Horror Story’ which was named ‘American Horror Story: Roanoke.’ The story follows a married couple, who after settling into their new home, are haunted by strange paranormal forces. The same year, Taissa also made her stage debut in the play ‘Buried Child’, playing the role of a character named Shelley.
  • Her latest films are the 2016 comedy-drama ‘Rules Don’t Apply’, and ‘Teen Titans: The Judas Contract’ (2017), an animated superhero film.
Recommended Lists:

Recommended Lists:

Major Works
  • ‘Higher Ground’ a 2011 American drama was the first work of Taissa’s career. The film, which was the directorial debut of her sister Vera Farmiga, also included popular actors such as Joshua Leonard, John Hawkes, Donna Murphy, Norbert Leo Butz, and Bill Irwin. The film follows a young girl, Corinne Walker, who is skeptical about God, and it shows how it affects her relationship with the Christian religion.
  • ‘Mindscape’ a 2013 psychological thriller produced by Spanish filmmaker Jorge Dorado, is one of the most significant works of Taissa Farmiga’s career. Apart from Farmiga, the film starred popular actors, such as Mark Strong, Noah Taylor and Brian Cox. The story follows a detective who can enter people’s memories. He decides to take the case of a girl Anna to determine whether she is just troubled or is a psychopath. Despite being a commercial failure, it was the ‘Official Selection’ at the ‘Sitges Film Festival.’
  • Taissa appeared in the American horror anthology TV series ‘American Horror Story’ which was created and produced by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk. She appeared in the first season ‘American Horror Story: Murder House’, the third season ‘American Horror Story: Coven’ and the sixth season ‘American Horror Story: Roanoke’. The show has been a success, and has been nominated for a total of 230 awards, out of which it won 59. The series has had six seasons so far, and the seventh season is expected to air in September 2017.
Awards & Achievements
  • Taissa Farmiga has been nominated twice for the ‘Online Film & Television Association Awards’. Firstly, in 2012 for ‘American Horror Story: Murder House’ in the category - Best Ensemble in a Drama Series, and second time in 2014 for ‘American Horror Story: Coven’ in the category - Best Ensemble in a Motion Picture or Miniseries.
  • She was nominated for the ‘Fright Meter Awards’ for ‘Best Actress in a Leading Role’ for her amazing performance in the 2015 comedy film ‘The Final Girls’.
Personal Life & Legacy
  • Since 2014, Taissa Farmiga has been dating Hadley Klein, a director and a screenwriter.

1. The Final Girls (2015)

  (Comedy, Horror)

2. Anna (2013)

  (Thriller, Drama, Mystery)

3. At Middleton (2013)

  (Romance, Comedy)

4. Higher Ground (2011)


5. Jamesy Boy (2014)

  (Crime, Romance, Drama, Biography)

6. In a Valley of Violence (2016)

  (Action, Drama, Western, Crime, Thriller)

7. The Nun (2018)

  (Mystery, Thriller, Horror)

8. Rules Don't Apply (2016)

  (Comedy, Romance, Drama)

See the events in life of Taissa Farmiga in Chronological Order

How To Cite

Article Title
- Taissa Farmiga Biography
- Editors, TheFamousPeople.com
- TheFamousPeople.com
Last Updated
- April 19, 2017
Taissa Farmiga

People Also Viewed

Vera Farmiga
Bella Thorne
Kiernan Shipka
Joey King

Hailee Steinfeld
Gigi Hadid
Elle Fanning
Dove Cameron