Ice Cube Biography

Ice Cube is an American hip hop artist, actor and record producer. Read this biography to learn more about his childhood, life, works, achievements and timeline.

Ice Cube
Quick Facts

Birthday: June 15, 1969

Nationality: American

Famous: Quotes By Ice Cube Child Prodigies

Age: 50 Years, 50 Year Old Males

Sun Sign: Gemini

Also Known As: O'Shea Jackson Sr

Born in: Los Angeles

Famous as: American rapper

Height: 5'8" (173 cm), 5'8" Males


Spouse/Ex-: Kimberly Woodruff

father: Hosea Jackson

mother: Doris Jackson

U.S. State: California

City: Los Angeles

More Facts

education: William Howard Taft High School

Continue Reading Below

Widely regarded as the founding father of the genre of ‘gangsta rap’, Ice Cube is one of the top ‘A list’ hip hop artists in the music industry. A controversial but versatile and engaging figure in the world of hip hop music, Cube has created a cultural phenomenon. He is one of the iconic stars of 21st century hip hop music, whose hard-hitting gangsta rap songs are believed to be a reflection of the political scenario of his time and often revolved around violent themes. Some of his bestselling albums include, ‘AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted’, ‘Kill at Will’, ‘Death Certificate’, ‘War & Peace Vol. 1’, ‘War & Peace Volume 2’, ‘Lethal Injection’ and ‘I Am the West’. Ice Cube developed the passion for rap songs from his high school days, and he began to write rap songs. He has transitioned from being an up-coming solo artist to one of the bestselling artists, whose albums have topped the music charts. With an estimated net worth of $120 million, Cube is one of the most established and influential artists in the American hip hop scene and he is also one of the most promising actors in Hollywood.

Recommended Lists:

Recommended Lists:

Continue Reading Below
Ice Cube
Childhood & Early Life
  • He was born as O'Shea Jackson in Los Angeles to Doris Jackson, a hospital clerk and Hosea Jackson, a groundskeeper.
  • Since his early teenage years, he had a keen interest in hip hop music and also wrote rap songs for a keyboarding class at his school, The Taft High School, Los Angeles.
  • During the fall 1987, he enrolled at the Phoenix Institute of Technology, where he pursued his studies in architectural drafting. He also performed with the hip hop group, C.I.A.
    Continue Reading Below
  • On May 16 1990, his debut solo hip hop album titled, ‘AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted’ was released. The album was an immense commercial and critical success.
  • In July 1990, he released a seven track extended play (EP), ‘Kill at Will’, which is regarded as one of his acclaimed and bestselling works. The album featured the remixed single ‘Endangered Species’.
  • In July 1991, he starred in the Academy Award nominated crime drama film ‘Boyz n the Hood’, directed by John Singleton. The film was well received and earned good reviews from film critics.
  • In 1991, his second studio album, ‘Death Certificate’ was released. It was one of his bestselling albums and received an advance sales order of more than one million copies.
  • In 1992, he came out with his third studio album titled, ‘The Predator’, which was a commercial success, but did not receive critical acclaim. The album featured the hit single ‘It Was a Good Day’.
  • In 1993, his fourth studio album titled, ‘Lethal Injection’ was released. The album was a commercial success and featured the hit singles, ‘You Know How We Do It’ and ‘Bop Gun’.
  • In 1997, he starred opposite Elizabeth Hurley in the thriller film, ‘Dangerous Ground’. The film was directed by Darrell Roodt and it did not receive good reviews.
    Continue Reading Below
  • In 1998, his fifth studio album titled, ‘War & Peace Vol. 1’ also called ‘The War Disc’ was released. The album peaked at the music charts and was also one among his bestselling albums.
  • In 2000, he came out with his sixth studio album, ‘War & Peace Volume 2’, which was one of his most successful albums that peaked at the music charts. The album featured the club song, ‘You Can Do It’.
  • In 2002, he starred in the comedy film, ‘Barbershop’, which was directed by Tim Story. He played the role of ‘Calvin Palmer’ and the film was a box office hit.
  • In 2004, he reprised his role as ‘Calvin Palmer’ in the sequel of ‘Barbershop’, ‘Barbershop 2: Back in Business’. The film was an immense success at the box office.
  • In 2006, his seventh studio album, ‘Laugh Now, Cry Later’ was released. This was regarded as his comeback album, as he concentrated more on his acting career since 2000.
  • In 2007, he starred in the family comedy film ‘Are We Done Yet?’. The film did not receive good reviews but did quite well commercially.
  • In 2008, his eighth studio album, ‘Raw Footage’ was released. The album featured the singles, ‘Gangsta Rap Made Me Do It’ and ‘Do Ya Thang’.
    Continue Reading Below
  • On September 28, 2010 his ninth studio album, ‘I Am the West’ was released. The album got positive reviewes and featured the singles, ‘I Rep That West’ and ‘Drink the Kool-Aid’.
  • His next album titled, ‘Everythang's Corrupt’ is scheduled to release in 2013.
Major Works
  • His first solo album, ‘AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted’, was a hit that peaked at number 6 on the U.S. ‘Top R&B/Hip Hop Albums’ chart. In 2007, this album was listed by ‘The Guardian’ as one of the ‘1000 Albums to Hear Before You Die’.
  • His second album, ‘Death Certificate’ peaked at the number two position on the ‘Billboard 200’ and reached the number one position on the ‘Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums’ chart. In 2005, it was ranked at the 8th position on MTV’s list of ‘Greatest Hip-Hop Albums of All Time’.
Recommended Lists:

Recommended Lists:

Awards & Achievements
  • In 1992, he received the Chicago Film Critics Association Award in the category, ‘Most Promising Actor’ for the film ‘Boyz n the Hood’.
  • In 2006, he was honoured at the VH1’s Annual Hip Hop Honors ceremony.
  • In 2009, he received the BET Hip-Hop Awards.
Personal Life & Legacy
  • In 1992, he married Kimberly Woodruff and the couple have four children together.
  • This famous American hip hop artist and actor converted to Islam in the 1990s.

See the events in life of Ice Cube in Chronological Order

How To Cite

Article Title
- Ice Cube Biography
- Editors,
Last Updated
- July 21, 2017

People Also Viewed

Kimberly Woodruff
Miley Cyrus
Kanye West

Brian Austin Green
Christina Milian
Gwen Stefani