The British army is the principal land warfare force of United Kingdom. First established in 1660, the British army has resisted numerous wars, battles and conflicts, including the Seven Years' War, Napoleonic Wars, Crimean War, First World War and Second World War. With repeated victories, the British army has established itself as one of the world's leading military powers. It is this status that has allowed Britain to become a world power. And much of the credit for the same goes to the brave, valiant and heroic British soldiers who have even sacrificed their life for the welfare of the country. British soldiers have a fiery sense of patriotism and a deep passion for nationalism. They truly abide by the British army’s official motto, ‘Be the Best’. They are well-equipped to combat situations and are well-trained to take up leadership roles whenever needed. Check this section and know interesting facts about the life of British soldiers.
Walter RaleighWalter Raleigh
22 January 1554
Politician, Writer, Explorer, Aristocrat
Prince Aly KhanPrince Aly Khan
13 June 1911
Father of Aga Khan IV

Wilfred OwenWilfred Owen
18 March 1893

Mary ReadMary Read
1685 AD

Robert Devereux, 2nd Earl of EssexRobert Devereux, 2nd Earl of Essex
10 November 1565
Political figure

Siegfried SassoonSiegfried Sassoon
08 September 1886
Richard Francis BurtonRichard Francis Burton
19 March 1821

Horatio NelsonHoratio Nelson
29 September 1758

Bernard Montgomery, 1st Viscount Montgomery of AlameinBernard Montgomery, 1st Viscount Montgomery of Alamein
17 November 1887
Allied Commander in World War II
John SmithJohn Smith
06 January 1580

James HewittJames Hewitt
30 April 1958
Military Leaders
Dennis NilsenDennis Nilsen
23 November 1945
Trade unionist, Serial killer

Jack HawkinsJack Hawkins
14 September 1910

Noor Inayat KhanNoor Inayat Khan
01 January 1914
poet, writer, children's writer

Adrian Carton de WiartAdrian Carton de Wiart
05 May 1880
Military personnel

Cedric HardwickeCedric Hardwicke
19 February 1893
Banastre TarletonBanastre Tarleton
21 August 1754
Politician, Military personnel

Andy McNabAndy McNab
28 December 1959
Writer, Autobiographer, Novelist, Soldier

Guy GibsonGuy Gibson
12 August 1918
Military personnel

Odette HallowesOdette Hallowes
28 April 1912
Intelligence agent
John McAleeseJohn McAleese
25 April 1949

Philip SidneyPhilip Sidney
30 November 1554
Henry TandeyHenry Tandey
30 August 1891

Arthur PhillipArthur Phillip
11 October 1738
Navy officer

Orde WingateOrde Wingate
26 February 1903
Patrick Leigh FermorPatrick Leigh Fermor
11 February 1915

Arthur PercivalArthur Percival
26 December 1887
Military personnel
Simon MannSimon Mann
26 June 1952
Mercenary, Officer

Harry PatchHarry Patch
17 June 1898

Edmund Allenby, 1st Viscount AllenbyEdmund Allenby, 1st Viscount Allenby
23 April 1861
John Fisher, 1st Baron FisherJohn Fisher, 1st Baron Fisher
25 January 1841

Continue Reading Below
Gonville BromheadGonville Bromhead
29 August 1845
Military personnel
David Hart DykeDavid Hart Dyke
03 October 1938
Military personnel

Alan Brooke, 1st Viscount AlanbrookeAlan Brooke, 1st Viscount Alanbrooke
23 July 1883
Military Officer

John HawkwoodJohn Hawkwood
1323 AD

Simon WestonSimon Weston
08 August 1961
Writer, Soldier
Nicholas AlkemadeNicholas Alkemade
10 December 1922
Paddy MaynePaddy Mayne
11 January 1915
Solicitor, Rugby union player, Military personnel,

Frederick BrowningFrederick Browning
20 October 1896
Military personnel

David Beatty, 1st Earl BeattyDavid Beatty, 1st Earl Beatty
17 January 1871
Politician, Military personnel

John ChardJohn Chard
21 December 1847
Engineer, Military personnel
Simon Fraser, 15th Lord LovatSimon Fraser, 15th Lord Lovat
09 July 1911
Politician, Justice of the Peace, Military

Stewart MenziesStewart Menzies
30 January 1890
Intelligence officer

Leonard CheshireLeonard Cheshire
07 September 1917
Aviator, Military personnel

William E. FairbairnWilliam E. Fairbairn
28 February 1885

Brian HorrocksBrian Horrocks
07 September 1895
Athletics competitor, Military personnel
Roger BushellRoger Bushell
30 August 1910

Roy UrquhartRoy Urquhart
28 November 1901
Nick HoughtonNick Houghton
18 October 1954
Military personnel

Robert NairacRobert Nairac
31 August 1948

Bob AstlesBob Astles
1924 AD
Arthur Tedder, 1st Baron TedderArthur Tedder, 1st Baron Tedder
11 July 1890
Politician, Military personnel

Claude ChoulesClaude Choules
03 March 1901
Bill MillinBill Millin
14 July 1922

Henry AllinghamHenry Allingham
06 June 1896
Soldier, Autobiographer

John Bowes-LyonJohn Bowes-Lyon
01 April 1886
Stockbroker, Cricketer

John Bagot GlubbJohn Bagot Glubb
16 April 1897
Military General

H. JonesH. Jones
14 May 1940
Sir Henry Wilson, 1st BaronetSir Henry Wilson, 1st Baronet
05 May 1864
Politician, Military personnel

Edmund Ironside, 1st Baron IronsideEdmund Ironside, 1st Baron Ironside
06 May 1880
Military Officer

Albert BallAlbert Ball
14 August 1896
Aviator, Military personnel

Robert Stanford TuckRobert Stanford Tuck
01 July 1916
Fighter pilot
Dominic McGlincheyDominic McGlinchey
1954 AD
Irish National Liberation Army

Victor Duleep SinghVictor Duleep Singh
10 July 1866
Edward Pellew, 1st Viscount ExmouthEdward Pellew, 1st Viscount Exmouth
19 April 1757
Politician, Military personnel

George GreyGeorge Grey
14 April 1812

Bernard Freyberg, 1st Baron FreybergBernard Freyberg, 1st Baron Freyberg
21 March 1889
Military General
Roberta CowellRoberta Cowell
08 April 1918
Racecar driver, Fighter pilot

Henry IretonHenry Ireton
1611 AD
Noel Godfrey ChavasseNoel Godfrey Chavasse
09 November 1884
Military physician, Athletics competitor

Cuthbert Collingwood, 1st Baron CollingwoodCuthbert Collingwood, 1st Baron Collingwood
26 September 1748
Politician, Officer

Ted BriggsTed Briggs
01 March 1923
George Brydges Rodney, 1st Baron RodneyGeorge Brydges Rodney, 1st Baron Rodney
13 February 1719

Charles Grey, 1st Earl GreyCharles Grey, 1st Earl Grey
23 October 1729
Military General
Adam FergusonAdam Ferguson
20 June 1723
Philosopher, Librarian, Historian, Soldier,

Patrick FergusonPatrick Ferguson
04 June 1744
Military personnel

Francis YounghusbandFrancis Younghusband
31 May 1863
Army Officer

Maurice WilsonMaurice Wilson
21 April 1898
Mackenzie BowellMackenzie Bowell
27 December 1823
William Cavendish, 1st Duke of DevonshireWilliam Cavendish, 1st Duke of Devonshire
25 January 1640

R. M. HareR. M. Hare
12 March 1919

Lanoe HawkerLanoe Hawker
30 December 1890
Aviator, Military personnel

Henry HavelockHenry Havelock
05 April 1795
Military personnel
John ClelandJohn Cleland
24 September 1709

Thomas Darcy, 1st Baron Darcy de DarcyThomas Darcy, 1st Baron Darcy de Darcy
1467 AD

Roland PenroseRoland Penrose
14 October 1900

Rowland Hill, 1st Viscount HillRowland Hill, 1st Viscount Hill
11 August 1772
Military Officer

Alexander SpotswoodAlexander Spotswood
1676 AD
Jack CornwellJack Cornwell
08 January 1900

William Beresford, 1st Viscount BeresfordWilliam Beresford, 1st Viscount Beresford
02 October 1768
Alan CunninghamAlan Cunningham
01 May 1887
Army Officer

Roy Ward BakerRoy Ward Baker
19 December 1916
Adrian BradshawAdrian Bradshaw
1958 AD
military personnel
Thomas RainsboroughThomas Rainsborough
06 July 1610