Turn the pages of Nepalese history and you would be surprized to notice that the position of the Prime Minister existed at all phases of Nepalese legacy. Though it was known by different title or name, but the profile and office of the Prime Minister was the same. When the Shah dynasty took over Nepal, Mul-Kajis were responsible for the executive functioning. They actually functioned as Prime Ministers. Rana Bahadur Shah in 1806 created the position of Mukhtiyar or ‘Mukhya’ and ‘Akhtiyar’ which stands for ‘Chief Authority’. The role of the Mukhtiyar was same as that of current day Prime Minister. In 1959, Nepal had for the first time an elected representative acting as the Prime Minister in Bishweshwar Prasad Koirala. Following Nepal’s turn to become a constitutional monarchy, the role of the Prime Minister became vague as the King became the supreme commander. However, the post still existed. The tables turned yet again following the royal massacre and riotous uprising of the Communist which led to the fall of the constitutional monarchy and establishment of the federal republic, according to which the President of Nepal became the head of the state while the Prime Minister served as the head of the government. Currently, Khadga Prasad Oil Sharma serves as the Prime Minister of Nepal. Check this section to find out detailed information regarding Nepalese Prime Ministers, their work, life and role in the government.
Girija Prasad Koirala Girija Prasad Koirala
04 July 1924
Former Prime Minister of Nepal
Jung Bahadur Rana Jung Bahadur Rana
18 June 1816
Former Ruler & Prime Minister of Nepal

Baburam BhattaraiBaburam Bhattarai
18 June 1954
35th Prime Minister of Nepal

Sushil KoiralaSushil Koirala
12 August 1939
Former Prime Minister of Nepal

Prachanda Prachanda
11 December 1954
Prime Minister of Nepal

Krishna Prasad Bhattarai Krishna Prasad Bhattarai
24 December 1924
Former Prime Minister of Nepal
Man Mohan AdhikariMan Mohan Adhikari
09 June 1920
Prime minister of Nepal