India is a land where we find an amalgamation of diverse cultures peacefully co-existing. Each culture has its own specific tradition and rituals. Similarly in every nook and corner of the country we find a classical dance form flourishing which are derived from the ancient legends of their culture. While Bharatanatyam found its root in the state of Tamil Nadu and was inspired by the temple dances, the Kathak dance of Uttar Pradesh is a narrative form of dance through which the dancers narrate a story. Similarly we also have Kathakali and Mohiniyattam from Kerela, Kuchipudi from Andhra Pradesh, Odishi from the state of Odisha, Manipuri from Manipur and Sattriya from Assam. All these dance forms have had some exceptional proponents like Kelu Charan Mahapatra, Birju Maharaj, T. Balasaraswati and Indrani Rehman. Some of these famous classical dancers have been honored with some of the highest civilian awards such as the Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. To protect their legacy these artists started their institutions so that their disciples can carry forward and preserve this aspect of our precious cultural heritage. To know more about the life stories and timelines of these famous Indian classical dancers explore through our collection of biography, where we have also revealed some interesting facts and trivia about them.

Vani GanapathyVani Ganapathy
Classical Dancer
Mallika Sarabhai Mallika Sarabhai
09 May 1954
Kuchipudi and Bharatanatyam dancer

Birju MaharajBirju Maharaj
04 February 1938
Kathak Dancer

Rukmini Devi ArundaleRukmini Devi Arundale
29 February 1904
Bharatnatyam Dancer

Mrinalini Sarabhai Mrinalini Sarabhai
11 May 1918
Classical Dancer and Choreographer

Sonal MansinghSonal Mansingh
30 April 1944
Odissi Dancer
Aditi Rao HydariAditi Rao Hydari
28 October 1986

Amala AkkineniAmala Akkineni
12 September 1967

15 January 1967
Manju WarrierManju Warrier
10 September 1978

Kavya MadhavanKavya Madhavan
19 September 1984
Sudha ChandranSudha Chandran
27 September 1965

Asha ParekhAsha Parekh
02 October 1942

Gracy SinghGracy Singh
20 July 1980

Pallavi ShardaPallavi Sharda
05 March 1990

Indrani RahmanIndrani Rahman
19 September 1930
Kelucharan MohapatraKelucharan Mohapatra
08 January 1926

Yamini KrishnamurthyYamini Krishnamurthy
20 December 1940

12 June 1932

Mayadhar RautMayadhar Raut
06 July 1930
T. BalasaraswatiT. Balasaraswati
13 May 1918