Philippines is a small island country in Southeast Asia. But don’t go by its size – Philippines has a lot of firsts to its credit. To begin with, it was the first country to gain independence and declare democracy in Asia. It was the first country to publish a book. It is the largest exporter of tropical fruits. The world’s largest pearl was discovered in Philippines. Philippines has one of world’s most unique flag that indicates a message whether the nation is at war or at peace. Also, did you know that just like the French joie de vivre spirit, Filipinos have their bahala na attitude that espouses as living life to the fullest, making them a bunch of happy folks in Asia. Much of the current position of Philippines on the world map has been essentially credited to its leaders, who have helped the country become an economic power in Asia and the world. Philippines follows a presidential system, wherein the President of the country serves as both the head of the state and the government. Till date, Philippines has had fifteen presidents, including the incumbent President Benigno Aquino. While some were noted for their administrative qualities and their progressive policies, some like Ferdinand Marcos were thrashed for dictatorship rule. Did you know that despite to decades since his death, Marcos’ body has still not been properly buried? It remains on ‘ice’ as the debate of where to bury him continues. With this section, explore more interesting facts about Filipino presidents.
Rodrigo DuterteRodrigo Duterte

28 March 1945

Ferdinand MarcosFerdinand Marcos

11 September 1917

Corazon AquinoCorazon Aquino

25 January 1933

Benigno Aquino IIIBenigno Aquino III

08 February 1960

Manuel L. QuezonManuel L. Quezon

19 August 1878

Ramon Magsaysay Ramon Magsaysay

31 August 1907